Fun running weekend

This weekend was a good one running-wise (actually, it was a great weekend overall)! I got in 14 km, which is now my longest run since last summer! I did it on the treadmill since there was a snowstorm with high winds, and my husband was at work so I wouldn’t have a ride if my knee bummed out.

I was ecstatic for the rest of the day! I’m still trying to keep with three days of strength training, so after the run it was weights and core work.

The best part of the running weekend was on Sunday when my husband raced in a local 10 miler. It was the first race of the season, so there were a lot of high-calibre runners.

Goooo Kelly (in blue)

I’m new to the whole cheerleading role since we usually race together. Last summer was my first time when my husband ran the Edmonton marathon and I couldn’t run at all. I had a blast with my dad riding our mountain bikes around to various spots.

Back to the 10 miler…Kelly ran really well and looked strong throughout. It was a pretty hilly course so he was a little worried since he hasn’t done any hill training except for a few when we were in Hawaii earlier this year.

It was kind of chilly to spectate, but the start and finish were at a small mall so I popped in there a couple times to warm up. My parents showed up to help cheer, too!

Overall, it was a really fun morning. I love watching the elite runners, and it was awesome to see Kelly a few times.

Cheering for Kelly at the six mile mark

Congratulating the finisher with my Dad

Unfortunately my knee really bugged me so my trainer ride was pretty weak. I’m trying not to stress about it though.

How was your weekend? Any local races? Do you still have snow to deal with?!

5 responses to “Fun running weekend

  1. Hi Abby,
    I just happened to come across your blog and noticed your knees are as broken down as mine seem to be at times 🙂 Really frustrating for sure. I don’t know I’d you’ve tried it, but I’ve had no tracking related issues since I’ve started using kinesio tape. Whether its the Rock Tape version Or the PT brand, they both seem to work. I was always sceptical and thought ppl believed in it because of the placebo effect, but now I’m a believer. Let me know if you want more info on it.
    If not, take care and all the best with your training.
    David

    • Hey David,
      I’m sorry to hear you have knee trouble, too.
      I’ve never tried kinesio tape and never thought about it until now! I’d love to get more info…do you tape them yourself?
      – Abby

      • I do tape my knees myself….makes people look at me in a funny way, but I’m used to that haha
        I use the tape they sell at the Running Room. I live in Ontario Canada, so its convenient. Depending on where you live, most sports stores should have one variety or another. The come in some pretty funky colours too.
        Through trial and error, I’ve found the best method for taping that works for me. I’m including a link to a video that shows the method that secures the patella in the best way possible.

        Let me know when you get a roll, and what type and I’ll be happy to give you some tips of the trade 🙂

  2. That’s great! Thanks so much for the video, David. I live in Alberta so have plenty of Running Room stores to choose from!
    I’ll let you know how it goes once I get some.

Leave some love

