Knock on wood…

I’ve been feeling really good lately. My knee hasn’t been bugging me nearly as much. I’ve been able to get in some quality workouts. I’ve been struggling cardiovascular-wise, which I’m taking as a positive (it means I’m getting back into shape)!

I’m always scared to admit these things though. If someone asks me how a workout was, or how my injury is coming along, I try not to say good. I’m terrified that as soon as I admit it, everything will backfire again!

I’ve taken to saying “knock on wood”, while knocking on my head or wood product, if I say something positive about how I’m feeling. Or, I don’t say anything at all and give a thumbs up or hang loose sign.

I realize these things won’t prevent pain and injury, but it sure makes me feel better!

This past weekend I was able to do a “long run” and longer bike back-to-back. It’s an improvement since the weekend before I couldn’t do the longer bike the day after my run.

On Monday, I had a glorious ride outside, and on my road bike! It was a beautiful day, and I rode in shorts and a cycling shirt. Exciting!

Tuesday was a run with my hubby and strength. Wednesday a morning swim. I was going to bike after work and start some two-a-day training, but I just didn’t have it in me. And I wanted a good run today, which is to be determined.

Do you have any weird superstitions? What was your workout today?

7 responses to “Knock on wood…

  1. What kind of road bike is that, and how do you like it?

    (PS – You sound like a triathlete!)

    • Hey Forrest,
      That bike is a Devinci Silverstone SL3. It’s my first road bike from ’09. I still like to ride it when there’s gravel on the roads or poor weather. I have a Trek Madone 5.2 , but it’s still on my trainer. Now that is a smooth ride!

  2. How smoking are you in your biking outfit! I am itching to get back to my road. I wish we could ride together.

    So good to hear about your knee – take it easy there.

    I have so many weird OCD superstitions, it’s sad.

  3. Pingback: Coincidence or irony? | Change of Pace

Leave some love

