Sunny start

Although it’s Monday and the start of another work week, the sun is shining so I’m happy! The weekend was great but went by too fast (as most do).

It was gray, rainy, and windy most of the weekend but I managed to sneak in a dry two-hour ride on Saturday. It was just over half of my previous week’s distance, but it was probably good to cut back this week.

I took the opportunity to run longer on Sunday since my legs had a little more jam. Kelly ran with me and we hit 22 km. We haven’t run long together in months, and it was the furthest I’ve run in months!

I’m testing out various hydration carriers because I need to start carrying water with me when I run. I carried a hand-held bottle this weekend, the Gel Bot. The bottle itself is cool in that you put water in the main part and it has a spot for gel, too, so you can take in water, gel, or a combination of the two. I used to use it for cycling. It just didn’t work for me to run with though.

Nichole (Live for the Run) just posted today about a Soft Flask. I think I’m going to track one down and give that a try. I like that is seems to be smaller, lighter, and can be folded up.

One other exciting thing happened this weekend: Harold turned 5!

Annual birthday photo!

To celebrate, we took him on one of his favourite river valley walks. He was in heaven with all the rain-scented flora!

Today was sunny and the evening has been gorgeous, but the rest of the week is looking pretty dreary.  I took advantage of the weather and hopped on my bike after work and took off down the highway. Once Kelly got home from work, he traded his commuter for his new road bike and chased me down.

He got a new bike, a Team Rabobank bike, so he flew!

It was so great to ride together, in the sunshine, and relieve the stresses of the day. Hope you have a great week!

What’s your favourite way to unwind after work? Do you have a favourite hydration system?

22 responses to “Sunny start

  1. I don’t really like carrying things in my hand when I run, but I’m looking forward to your review of the soft flask. I don’t really like hydration packs either, so need to find a solution for hot long runs when I need to carry fluids with me!

    • I hear ya Alison. My favourite piece so far is a North Face hydration pack I have. I’ve probably tried five other kinds! I’ll let you know when I find a soft flask. You let me know if you find something that works!

  2. I think I just screamed out loud, ha! So cool for you to mention and talk about timing:) Thank you!!

    If you have your long runs planned you might need something bigger so maybe we can find you a good belt that isn’t too bulky.

    Harold is too much – he reminds me of the most adorable dog from the Grinch.

    Nice wheels – and I hope that it stays pretty for y’all too – we had our share of rain and grey this weekend.

    • Ha! It was weird timing, and I liked your review! Please do let me know what else you like to run with.
      Thanks for the Harold compliment- I’m such a proud momma!
      Is it super hot down there now?

  3. Happy birthday Harold! My favorite way to hydrate on long runs is to plan and stash aid stations along my route. It gives me something to look forward to and I don’t have to carry anything

  4. I really like Fuel Belt–I need to keep my hands free and relaxed on a long run. I found the 2 bottle one less cumbersome than the 4 bottle one. You can always refill.

  5. Awwwww precious! Happy belated birthday Harold!!! What a cutie!!! 🙂

  6. After a day of teaching I love to unwind with a good workout at the gym or a road run (if it’s not raining!). Then a relaxing dinner and a glass (or 2) of vino with my boyfriend.

  7. For running I carry a handheld water bottle that has a sleeve to store Gu and what not. I’ve never tried a Gu flask – I would love to hear a review from you! I kind of like taking a packet at a time so I know exactly how much I’ve taken in.

    PS your dog is adorable!

  8. we have used the soft flask! you’ll like it. it helps!

Leave some love

