Working for the weekend

This was the first weekend that felt like true Ironman training. I’m tired, my legs felt trashed by the end, and I declined a fun summer evening out with friends. But I enjoyed literally every moment of it!

On Saturday morning we woke up to beautiful blue, sunny skies. The last two weekends had poor weather, so we were more than ready. It was time to get our ride on!

Stopping at a country store for more fluids.

We hit the highway, found some beautiful and quiet country roads, and enjoyed the morning. We avoided the angry dog, even though we cruised by him twice! Kelly did some out and backs but rode with me for the majority of it. I finished the day with 151km, tired legs, and a smile on my face!

I was pretty tired for the rest of the day, so relaxed in one of my favourite ways- reading in the shade with the pup!

One of my friends was having a Summer Soiree Pool Party, and it was a glorious night. I was just too lazy/lame to get ready and go out, knowing I’d be exhausted the whole time I was there. And, I have a serious shorts tan that would look hilarious in a bathing suit!

Instead we had a wonderful evening at home cleaning our bikes, eating a wholesome dinner, and taking the pup out for a bike ride/run on my cruiser.

Sunday morning came pretty quickly and we were off and running. I finished the day with 22km and no knee pain! I was a little worried after a big ride the day before. My exercises, rolling, and massage seem to really be helping!

Last week I really felt like I hit a good spot in my training. I had some great runs, swam my fastest 2km ever, and had a strong bike. I’m looking forward to another week to see where I’m at after a tough weekend.

What was the highlight of your weekend? Do you turn down social events because of training?

24 responses to “Working for the weekend

  1. fortheloveoflifeandrunning

    Ironman, it is a lifestyle. The sacrifice will be worth the gain. Keep pushing.

  2. Highlight of my weekend was the Tour de Victoria… it’s a must-do!

    I try not to turn down social events because of training, but it sometimes happen. I really make an effort to have a balanced life!

  3. Nice job with the training! I love when things start to click like that. And yes, I am the queen of turning down social events so that I can not be too exhausted. Some think it’s off kilter, but it’s right where I want to be, so that’s what I do!

  4. Good weather, exceptional mileage, and a pool party?! Sounds like a perfect weekend sweets. Smart training is paying off. Praying you stay healthy and fit – keep at it!

  5. I went to a fun boot camp with my mother! All 5o year old women who kick ass and were in awesome shape

  6. I biked 26 miles around Green Lake with a friend followed my a 20 minute run and I loved it. We then got to spend the rest of the weekend chilling on the water and hanging out on the boat. It was fantastic!

    Congrats on a super active week. Sounds like training is off to a great start. When I was marathon training, we had a lot of Saturday nights in and I would be in bed before my boyfriend was starting a movie:)

  7. Too often during training I become a social misfit. Most of my friends don’t run marathons so when I am training I am usually missing out on the Friday happy hour or weekend BBQ’s. This summer I am taking off so I will be happy to feel like a well adjusted adult again.

  8. I enjoy your blog! I know you mentionend in a previous post (I can’t find it though) about how to “roll” or massage your lower legs? I am having some pain with my running and would love some tips! Thank you!!

  9. Love your blog and great job on training.

  10. Wow what intense training! Massages and rolling are great for quick recovery. Good luck and loving being able to follow your iron-journey!

  11. I found your blog from Miss Zippy. I’ve already learned some things from your helpful posts as I am just getting into triathlons. Thanks, I’ll be back to see how your training and Ironman go. Good luck!

Leave some love

