Coincidence or irony?

In this post I briefly mentioned it felt like I had a pinched nerve in my shoulder. The pain began on Monday evening but I still got in a recovery spin. It really hurt on Tuesday so I took the day totally off. After an evening massage, it felt better but not great.

Wednesday rolled around and I had more mobility and went for a ride. Thursday felt a bit worse but I had a pain-free run. I also went to see a physiotherapist.

He thinks it’s my Supraspinatus. We think the cause it really inflexible shoulders and poor mobility/flexibility in my thoracic area. I get a lot of tension build up on my left side, so much so that if you look at me standing my left clavicle sits way higher than my right.

Photo taken from sportsinjuryclinic.net

The irony is that I just talked about my swim and how I’m not concerned about it. The superstitious part of me felt guilty writing it, like I should have knocked on wood or put a caveat in there!

I’ve taken a week off swimming so far and won’t go again until I have no pain. I debated going and just kicking, but I get shooting pain when my arms are straight out so there goes that!

I was supposed to bike today but it hurts a lot when I put pressure on that side. Instead I did some squats and core work, along with my new physio exercises to help this out.

I’m trying not to freak and let my mind wander about my training. Hopefully I’ll be able to get in a long bike this weekend. If it hurts though, I won’t do it. I’d rather get to the start line healthy and a bit less prepared than I hoped than in pain.

In the meantime I’m trying to focus on the positive. I have a four-day weekend, I’m going to visit a friend and her new baby today, my girlfriend that moved to Australia is coming for a visit and I haven’t seen her in two years, and there are some great Olympic events on tap for the weekend.

What are your plans for the weekend? What’s the Olympic event you’re most looking forward to over the next few days? Any advice for a hurt supraspinatus?!

24 responses to “Coincidence or irony?

  1. Good idea – way better to be a bit undertrained and healthy, rather than have an injury at the start line. Avoid swimming until it feels better, as swimming always aggravates rotator cuff injuries. You’ll overcome it, still time! Try ibuprofen, and ice it while you’re watching the Olympics. Stay positive!

  2. Hoping for a speedy recovery- so agree rather rest it up and let it heal properly than risk making it worse. Have a great long weekend!!

  3. Try and say supraspinatus 5 times fast 😉 I hope you have a quick recovery and get back to your regular fitness schedule! Enjoy this weekend!

  4. I cannot wait for all of the track and field events! Basically I think my desk job should be cancelled so I can watch every moment of every single one!

  5. Oh man, sounds like an early case of the taper tantrums. I think you’re doing the right thing – rest, rest, rest.

  6. hope you feel better soon!!!

  7. Don’t freak out! It’s like when you WebMD yourself. I wish you a VERY speedy recovery, sounds like you’re doing everything you can. So sorry to hear about this!!

    Adoring track and field, the 400M hurdles almost makes me ill, I can’t get over these athletes. Anything aquatic is also a fave:)

    Get well asap!

    • Thanks for the advice! I’m trying SO hard to remain calm!
      Aren’t they just phenomenal athletes? Do you like the synchro swimming, too? They are super strong and I can’t imagine how hard they work, but I still have to laugh when I see them in their noseplugs!

  8. oh james has had that. his shoulder locks up! but it only took week to get better. take care of yourself!

    • I was kind of hoping you’d say that! It makes me feel better to hear about people who’ve had the same ailments and overcome them, especially when it gets better relatively easily!
      Hope you’re enjoying your week.

  9. I hope you start healing soon! I would ask your PT about kinesiotape. If you are impinged then you can use it to lengthen the pec and I think that it can help with the pain. I would also recommend lots of stretching!!!

    • Thanks for the advice! Someone else recommended I try kinesiotape a while ago and I felt better so I never pursued it. I think it would be a good idea to ask about it now this close to my event!

      • Definitely! It’s amazing to watch how many of the Olympians are usint it. I saw a few marathoners with their backs taped up. Usually impingement is posture related so anything that can support better posture will help. Hope it’s feeling better every day!

  10. Another suggestion for your shoulder: my husband recently broke his hand (mtn bike crash) but is still training as he’s doing the 70.3 championships in Vegas next month. He has a cast which has been making his shoulder/rotator cuff sore swimming due to the extra force in the water during his pull. I was shown how to use KT tape on his shoulder (we use it for a lot of things in this household!). He swam with it today and said it felt great! Give it a try! Find a PT or chiro who uses kinesio tape, or you can even google applications and get someone to do it for you – Shoppers Drug Mart sells it. You may want to tape your shoulder for IMC, it stays on no problem. Good luck!

    • Hi Alison,
      Thanks so much for thinking of me again! Someone else recommended the tape for my knee, but it got better so I never tried it. I should definitely do it for my shoulder. I’ll try to pick some up tomorrow and figure it out. Thank you!
      And, exciting news about your husband! Hopefully it’ll keep feeling good for the big race next month.

  11. Pingback: Decisions, a Gran Fondo, and nerves | Change of Pace

  12. Pingback: All my bags are packed… | Change of Pace

  13. Pingback: Yoga for runners | Change of Pace

Leave some love

