Logic vs insanity – it’s all for fun

I’m not prepared. My training was too short. My long runs can’t be classified as long. I haven’t had a strong swim in weeks. I don’t know if my wetsuits fits! There’s an 11km climb on the bike. I wonder if I’ll really struggle on it (barring I even make it out of the water). My lady parts are going to get sore! Family is coming out to watch me; I don’t want it to be a bust.

I trained smart. My long runs weren’t very long, but at that point it’ll hurt no matter what training I had finished. I’ve really improved on the bike this year, so I’m sure I’ll notice a difference even with the climbs. If my shoulder hurts in the swim, slow down. It’s going to be a beautiful course, so just enjoy it!

These are the illogical and logical thoughts that have been running through my head lately. I get ridiculously nervous before any event, no matter how big or small. I’m not sure why, as I do this because I enjoy it.

I don’t have goals to place in my age group. I’ve never aspired to qualify for Kona. I don’t even have a time goal for this race.

I train at pretty much the same speed every day. (Note: this isn’t the way to get faster!) My bike pace for 30km is the same as for 175km. I don’t do speedwork or even fartleks. I haven’t done hill or stair repeats in a couple years. I’ve never swam an interval. Heck, I don’t even tumble turn!

I train because I love it. I like to push myself. I like having muscular legs. I like pushing myself to new distances. I love to run. And this year I’ve fallen in love with biking, too.

I need to remember this when I stress out over the next few days. I do it because I love it.  I need to remember this on race day. I’m doing it because I enjoy it.

Unless you’re a professional getting paid to train and place in events, it’s easy to lose sight of why you train and why you race. Remember, it’s for fun!

22 responses to “Logic vs insanity – it’s all for fun

  1. You’re going to have so much fun racing. Soak in every minute! 🙂

  2. Excellent point to keep sight of. If it isn’t fun, we lose one of the biggest benefits of exercise 🙂

  3. Training should be for fun, you are so right. The way you described your thoughts above is just the way I feel before any race.
    I`m sure you will enjoy the race – if that`s what you can call it when you have pain. But as long as it stays good pain you are great to go.

  4. I absolutely love your perspective on this. Whenever my training buddy and I start getting overly stressed about an upcoming race we say to the other one “when did you go Pro?”! It’s that little reminder we need to lighten up and just enjoy the moment. I wish you all the best.

  5. It is so a mental challenge as much as a physical one! Keep those logical thoughts free flowing 😉

  6. What a well written post! I love the paragraph that starts with ‘I love to train’. I feel the exact same way! I have the same rational and crazy thoughts before all my races, but especially the marathon which is the longest race I have done. There were days I felt like an athlete and days I thought I would never make it to mile 10. You will do great and make your family (and all of us blog friends) proud! Have fun and stay mentally strong!

  7. that’s so true — it’s for fun!! 🙂

  8. I can so relate to that schizoid thinking! Do it before every long race. And yep, that bike recipe is exactly the one I took for my race yesterday. But in the end, you are EXACTLY right. We’re not pros–we do this because we love it. So important to keep that in sight.

  9. it’s always for fun! pro or not! good luck!

  10. I am SO excited for you! I think I have butterflies. Your commitment and dedication is awe inspiring. You are going to crush it!!!!!

    Keep focused – so very proud of you already. And seriously, I wish I was pro to have that kind of training time:)

    • Welcome back! Aw- thanks for all the positive thoughts! Can you pass that energy along on Sunday morning?!
      That training time would be fabulous, but then you’d also have the pressures of being a pro.

  11. So true – our minds play tricks on us! I love that you do this sport just for the love of it. I need to learn a lesson from you and be a little less focused on results and times and instead remember why I run and do triathlon – for the sake of the sport. You are going to do GREAT!

Leave some love

