All my bags are packed…

…I’m ready to go!

We’re leaving bright and early tomorrow morning. I must say, I’m super excited!!

My shoulder is achy and my hip feels funny, but I’m counting on those being taper pains. I was also stung in the butt by a wasp and thankfully didn’t have side effects other than an itchy rump! And I have a nasty black toenail/blood blister under one of my toenails. I left it for too long and now it’s too late to deal with it. Hopefully it stays intact for the race!

Swollen, black-toed runners feet!

Here’s what I do know: (and I’ll superstitiously knock on wood for these!)

  • My last couple runs and bikes have felt strong. My legs are ready to motor!
  • Long story short, my husband is now doing the race! I am SO happy! It doubles the excitement threshold.
  • My family and friends are incredible.
  • I’m excited to tackle a tough course and look forward to the challenge.
  • Ignorance is bliss. Everyone advises to drive the bike course beforehand. I’m standing strong and not doing it. I don’t want to be intimidated. I’ll face the hills when I’m on them.

  • The weather forecast is not hot! Last Sunday it was 34/93 degrees. Most sites show highs of 20/68 to 25/77 for race day. (Fingers crossed for no rain or hail!)
  • I’m going to try not to be bothered by things that are out of my control (like the weather).
  • There are 2,999 people registered.
  • I am number 2093 and Kelly is number 209.
  • I can’t wait for the buzzing energy around Penticton. I really can’t wait for the insane energy before the swim starts!

Thanks to all of you for your amazing encouragement. I’ll be thinking of it when I hit rough spots during the race. Send us some positive energy on Sunday!

What has gotten you through tough training sessions or races?

15 responses to “All my bags are packed…

  1. Good luck to you and Kelly! You guys will kill it! 🙂

  2. AAACK so excited for you, it’s been so fun being able to follow your training, you are going to do so so well!

  3. You are so well prepared and have everything thought out, it will be an awesome experience, I`m sure! I hope you have the best time, crossing my fingers for good weather and no toe-nail problems! And of course for YOU and Kelly on the race!

  4. You’re as ready as anyone could be. You’ll rock this race!!! Good luck, and when the pain comes, just think of Christian Grey! 😉

  5. fortheloveoflifeandrunning

    The time has come! I will be watching a friend at IM Louisville…good luck to both of you! You’re ready.

  6. Good luck! Don’t burn yourself out on the first 60km of the bike course – it’s flat, easy and exciting. Save the legs for the tough stuff afterwards. And yes, after the out-and-back section in Keremeos it’s a false flat through Olalla, so don’t be surprised if you’re going slowly through there and don’t know why. Have fun and ENJOY!

  7. How exciting! It’s almost HERE! Glad your hubby is able to join you again!

  8. VERY EXCITED FOR YOU SWEETS!!!!!! You have done more than prepare yourself for success. Keep your eye on the prize. Don’t worry about the weather, worry about what you CAN change!

    Good luck!

  9. GOOD LUCK!!! You are going to do great. You are ready and feeling strong! I can’t wait to hear how it goes! Enjoy every moment!

  10. I’m so excited for you!!! You will do wonderfully! I think what gets me through the tough races is knowing that my family is cheering me on from the finish line! I’m looking forwrad to hearing about it!

  11. PS
    Here is a little something to do when you get back and have some much desrved down time : )
    http://luvwhatyoudo.wordpress.com/2012/08/23/11-question-blogger-fun/

  12. All the best!! Time to turn on that switch in the brain that ignores those tweaking pains and focus on all the hard work you have done in preparation. Wishing you and your hubby the best of luck, ‘enjoy’ every minute 😀

  13. Thinking of you. I wish you and your husband all the best! Can’t wait to hear how it all goes.

  14. Good luck – hope all goes well. Hope your shoulder stays strong so you can have a strong swim along with the run and bike portion!! 🙂 Keep us posted!

Leave some love

