Exercising outside the box

I haven’t been running much. I don’t want to bike too much and get sick of the trainer before real training begins.  I don’t want to do anything that could further irritate my knee. And we cancelled our gym memberships.

So when my husband suggested taking our cyclo-cross bikes out for an adventure in the snow on Saturday morning I was game!

It was -5 with a windchill of -8. And of course the way we were riding was into the wind! I seriously layered (two pairs of pants and bike shorts; sports bra, base layer sweater, running sweater, and thick cycling jacket; neck warmer, toque, and helmet; hot hands and my thickest running mitts; winter running socks, toe warmers, bike shoes, and bike shoe covers).

I have never ridden a bike in snow before so didn’t know what to expect, especially since we don’t have studded tires.

We rode on packed sidewalks, shoveled sidewalks, and icy sidewalks. We rode through slushy roads and roads with heavy snow. We hit snow-covered trails, cleared trails, icy up-hills and slick down-hills.

Kelly gave me some great tips that kept me upright and safe! I think the best one was to go with it. If the snow starts taking you one way, let it instead of trying to correct your front tire.

I was really tense at the beginning, was scared of being clipped in, and didn’t know if I should continue. I was really proud of myself for sticking with it and embracing the challenge!

The trails were the most fun, but we had a blast throughout the entire four-hour ride.

When’s the last time you did something different? Have you biked in the snow?

39 responses to “Exercising outside the box

  1. I can’t believe the snow over there! I hope your knee is OK and gets better.

    I actually don’t even know how to properly bike, so never would I head out into the snow. haha, I wish though!

  2. That sounds amazing. I’ve cycled my upright commuter bike through the snow once, sort of, but those things aren’t made for ‘proper’ riding! Well done you for sucking it up and getting on with it! 😉

  3. I have never biked in the snow but I see a lot of people commuting to work all winter here in Northern Minnesota and I have always wondered how…thanks for a little insight! You’re braver than me though, I can’t see myself trying that, especially after being injuted and unable to run for a month now due to a tame little pilates injury…I’m a scaredy cat now!

  4. You are hardcore, my dear! Those are some seriously cold temperatures. It looks like a ton of fun though! So glad you had a good weekend 🙂

  5. I’ve never biked in the snow…I always assumed that people that do do so because they don’t have cars! 🙂 You made it sound fun though!

  6. Supreme Sport Barbie. WOAH. You are amazeballs. This sounds like something we’d end up doing. I love your sense of adventure!!

  7. Wow, you guys are hard core!!! That’s awesome 🙂 I’m not ready for snow just yet, but what a great way to embrace it.

    You already know my “something different” in the form of completing my 50 mile trail run this past weekend. Thank you for the kind words on my blog!!! Taking a nice rest before I even think of my next gig…. 🙂

  8. goodlivingwarehouse

    Well all that sounds pretty dangerous, haha. But last winter I had a pretty great time running in the snow. Aside from the cold (which I hate) it was a great way to mix up my usual workouts. High knees, hard cardio, and uneven terrain made it a lot of fun. I’ll most likely continue this new tradition this winter and leave the biking to you 🙂

    • Yeah- probably not the safest choice when I’m battling injury! That’s true- high knees from snow is a great, fun workout.
      By the way, I really enjoyed your last post about sinus infections. I seem to get at least one each winter.

  9. I have never biked in the snow and I am so impressed! I think I would be scared out of my mind : )

  10. And I also want to share that I nominated you for the Inspiring Blog Award! Check out the rules here: http://runnergirlrevisited.blogspot.com/2012/11/7-things-nominating-blogs-that-inspire.html

  11. Nope – can’t say that I’ve biked in the snow. Then again, I never really learned to ride a bike. Spin class is about as into cycling as I get. haha

  12. I didn’t even know you could bike in the snow! Your blog has taught this So Cal girl a lot! 🙂

  13. I’ve run in the snow, walked in the snow, played soccer in the snow, but never have I biked in the snow!! That is intense! What a fun adventure!

  14. I can’t believe you have snow already!!

  15. I hope the snow stays a way for a bit longer over here. I really like snow, but I don’t have a driver’s license and I drive my bike not just for fun, but also to get to places. I used to bike in snow, but 2 years ago, I fell and had the worst concussion ever. Couldn’t feel my fingers for 2 weeks, and felt the aftermath for over a half year. So I think I will never ever ride a bike in the snow again, but on the other hand, I didn’t wear a helmet. A helmet would have helped a lot. Hope your knee is getting better soon!

  16. yay for new adventures and cross-training but DANG, i dunno if i could have hacked doing that in the snow! hard core, you two! 🙂

    i’m not a big biker, i think mostly because if i get going fast i freak out and am suuure i’m just gonna bite it! 😛

  17. Biking in the snow sounds like an fun and something to definitely mix it up. I hope your knee heals soon. 🙂
    Do you have a bike brand you recommend? I’m hoping to purchase one around Christmas time. Thanks 🙂

    • Thank you for the knee well-wishes!
      Do you know what kind of bike you’re looking for (mountain, road, hybrid, etc.) or what you primarily hope to get out of it?
      My husband is a huge Giant fan, but we also have Trek, Specialized, Cannondale, and Davinci.
      Let me know and I’ll ask his advice!

  18. you are brave! i would have died the first 4 minutes. It’s 55F here in the morning and thats cold. haha. Hope the knee is on the mends.

  19. Pingback: Tell me about your 2012… from MsZippy | Change of Pace

Leave some love

