Catch up and cross training

Hope you enjoyed time with your family and friends over the holidays!

xmas2012

We had a fabulous holiday visiting with family and enjoying a few days off together. I was spoiled rotten again this Christmas and got some amazing gifts including a beautiful new mountain bike (Giant Trance X1 W) and some other awesome gear!

NewMountainBike

We also had a little Christmas crook who loves to steal gifts and unwrap them. It is priceless to watch Harold sneak a gift and unwrap it!

Hthief

It was ridiculously cold over Christmas, but I still managed to get out and run in the freezing temps, bike in the warmth of my basement, swim some laps, and head out in snowshoes! I got a pair of running snowshoes last year but we didn’t have much snow so I only used them once. I bought Kelly a pair for Christmas, so we took them out on Dec. 26.

These things are no joke! It’s not bad to run on packed snow but to run on untouched snow is pretty intense! We lasted 12 minutes and had two sprint races before I collapsed into a pile of snow. So fun and I can’t wait to use them more to cross train!

We also tried something new to me. We went to a rock climbing gym! I am terrified of heights and have weak arms, so I wasn’t expecting much. I was so proud of myself for making it to the top twice!

I climbed the wall face to the right of the guy climbing!

I climbed the wall face to the right of the guy climbing!

The weather warmed up beautifully this past weekend so we hit the outdoors again. We took Harold on a perfect trail walk in the river valley.

KHValleyWalk

Even though he hasn’t been walking much due to the cold, he is still as speedy as ever! Neither of us can beat him no matter how hard we try!

AHWinterWalk

We also went for an amazing cross-country ski. There are some phenomenal trails nearby. We saw a couple deer and even a moose! Oh, and I face-planted hard after flying down a hill. And my husband got a photo of my crash landing.

xc6

It’s been an incredible holiday season. I find it hard to believe that 2012 is coming to a close and 2013 is just around the corner. We have some big adventures ahead of us and I can’t wait.

Wishing you a happy, happy New Year and many great memories and adventures in 2013!

How were your holidays? What was your favourite part?

37 responses to “Catch up and cross training

  1. You’re putting me into so much shame with all the outdoors activities!!

    I’ve went rock-climbing once – in a gym class setting. So scared at first, but it turned out to be pretty fun!

    Happy New Year!!

  2. Hate to say it, but I laughed at the cross-country ski picture (only because I’ve done that myself, always at the bottom of a hill). Sounds like you had a great Christmas!

  3. You take full advantage of the outdoors, that’s for sure!

  4. You’ve had some fun these past couple of weeks! Love the new bike. And I have some snow shoes for running (I know, in MD, kinda stupid!) and you are right–it is HARD! I’ve found the only way to make it any distance is to slow WAY down. Enjoy!

  5. Happy New Year friend! Wow girl, you really know how to cross-train, love how you two always come up with such creative, fun things to do!

    And wow that’s an amazing mountain bike, Tappan would be ecstatic if I could get into mountain biking and ride with him. I’ve been a couple times but I’m a little too accident prone and I’m nervous about falling over…maybe once I’m done with all my training in June I could get into it 🙂

  6. Sounds like a wonderful year!! My Holidays were fun! I think my favorite part was just spending time with my friends and family over the week! 🙂

  7. We finally have snow here, so I am jealous that you have so many activities for it. I love the idea of using snow as a workout element! Make me think of Rocky training in Russia.

  8. Congrats on the new bike! That is awesome! I am so jealous of all of your outdoor fun (minus the faceplant) and love seeing all of the fun activities you do! I love indoor rock climbing and wish there was a place near by to go. I will have to investigate that. Wishing you a happy, fun, and fulfulling 2013!

  9. Happy New Year Abby! I look forward to reading about the exciting adventures on your new bike. The rock-climbing looks fun – well done overcoming your fear and making it to the top – twice!
    My holidays have been very relaxing – New Year’s Day here is sunny and warm so we’re off to the beach!

  10. AWESOME new bike!! I cannot believe how much snow you guys have..and for how long it’s been there!! My holidays were amazing, and tonight will be very relaxing indeed!! Happy NYE!

  11. We got some great walks/hikes in the woods & snow with Bella. It tuckers us all out! I got Scott snowshoes a couple of years back, but here’s the thing – I don’t have any. We should probably remedy that, huh?

    Scott would’ve totally caught a picture of me falling too.

    Looking forward to a great 2013!!

  12. Happy New Year! That’s so awesome you tried a rock wall even though you were afraid! It all looks like fun! 🙂

  13. What a great Christmas! Cross country skiing right nearby sounds awesome! Happy New Year!

  14. I’ve been wanting to try snowshoeing lately!

    I’m afraid of heights as well…I promised my husband that I’d learn to climb though so that we can belay each other at the gym. The ONE time I tried rockclimbing, I went super fast because I was so scared!

  15. I don’t celebrate the actual holidays, but I thoroughly enjoyed my time off 🙂 Best part was finishing out 2012 with a snowboard day yesterday. Got to ride with my hubby & some good friends! And I feel for your cross-country fall haha.

  16. Harold is so mischievous! and that just adds to his cuteness. I love that he sneaks gifts. Nice gifts!!!!! you really cashed in this holiday season. Looks like you guys had a great time 🙂

  17. Oh my, that photo of you falling, haha! Way to go husband 🙂 Beyond jealous of the bike! And your ability to go snowshoe running together now! Sounds like a great holiday!

  18. runnerbydefault

    I am glad that someone loves the cold and outdoors! I am such a bum on my treadmill :). What is it with dogs never letting anyone ahead of them? Our little guy is like that. No matter how hard we run, he runs faster! And he is 13 yrs. old!! Love your new bike. What a great gift! Happy New Year’s to you!

Leave some love

