Home sweet home

We quickly outgrew our downtown condo once we adopted Harold.

MiniHCondo

He literally ran laps around the place! The location was ideal being steps from the river valley trails and close enough to walk to work, but it was just too small for the three of us (and bird and fish)!

IMG_0143

Five years ago last week we moved into our house. Although we fell in love with certain features like wainscoting in the bonus room, an open front entrance, and huge closets, we’ve fallen in love with much more over the years.

Our yard
We put a lot of time, effort, and back-breaking work into both our front and back yards. A fence and sod were our first priority to give Harold space to run. Since then we’ve added tons of trees (including two delicious apple trees), shrubs, a fire pit, deck, and a gazebo we often use to read and relax. Kelly designed a gorgeous waterfall/pond for our front yard, which also has a variety of shrubs and plants.

IMG_4423

Although our summers aren’t long we spend a lot of time enjoying our yard, especially after long training days!

Chilling

Basement
Our unfinished basement has gone through many transformations: storage to golf zone to game room to mini workout centre to bouldering zone and workout room.

My husband built a bouldering wall a couple years ago.

IMG_4197

DSCF1470

We have a treadmill and both our bikes set up on trainers. And we have free weights, a home gym,  and a few benches.

I absolutely love it the way it is and can’t believe how much time we spend down there, especially in the winter months.

Location
Although we aren’t in the heart of the city and it’s a bit of a hike to hit the trails and commute to work, I love our location. We’re just minutes from a highway, which is great for road biking. I’m not a fan of city riding and love that I can quickly hit the open road.

FallBike

I can’t believe it’s already been five years here with my little family. I’m looking forward to many more!

Three

Although we’re not even a week in to our trip, I’m sure I’m already missing our bed!

What’s your favourite part of your home? Do you move a lot? 

22 responses to “Home sweet home

  1. Wow! Your yard and bouldering wall look amazing! I’ve had to move a lot in the past few years. We like our current house…I grew up in a house that was built in the 1920s, and our current home was built around then as well, which we like. We HATE our neighborhood though. Thankfully we’re renting. We’ll move whenever we figure out where my next job is.

  2. I love your outdoor and indoor space. How cool is that bouldering wall! It’s great that you have made your house a home. I am a homebody at heart and I think we have made our space ours, too. Can’t imagine leaving this neighborhood, although warmer climates definitely call to me!

  3. I would love to have my own fitness room, and the bouldering wall looks like a lot of fun! I used to be in a climbing club while I lived in Denmark, and a lot of the guys there had their own bouldering wall at home. Now, I only need the space 🙂

  4. That rock wall is incredible! My bed and couch are definitely my favorite places at home. I think I miss my pillow the most when I travel : ) Can’t wait to hear all about your travels!

  5. OMG!! I love that rock wall!! That is so awesome! Baby Harold is soooo freaking cute. I hope you are having a great trip!

  6. What a nice house! I would love to have a rock wall in mine!!

  7. Wow, a bouldering wall in your house?! That is pretty darn cool!

  8. The bouldering wall is amazing!! It actually looks really cool, too. Kudos to your hubby for making that for you! Harold is such a cutie pie puppy.

  9. Talk about an Athlete’s dream basement! I just sold my condo but my favorite room was the kitchen. I am now paying rent to a friend and unfortuntely the kitchen isn’t that great but it is still my favorite room!

  10. Wow! That is a really cool basement. My kids would love that! Hope you’re having a great trip!

  11. A BOULDER WALL?!??!?! OMG. I want to go to your house. NOW.

Leave some love

