Catch up

With less than two weeks until Ironman Coeur d’Alene, my busy schedule got the best of me! I spent most of the past weekend wearing fleece PJs, curled up watching movies and reading, drinking fruit smoothies and hot lemon water, and sleeping.

Over the past couple months I’ve kind of been looking over my shoulder wondering when I’ll get sick.

It’s been too many 4:XX mornings during the week and a more than a few weekends. It’s been go-go-go. I have absolutely loved it and embraced the challenge.

However, my body needed a break and it wasn’t afraid to force me to take it.

Listen

Image from Pinterest

Hopefully this weekend hit the reset button and I can be 100% healthy for the big day.

Does your body ever force you to take a break, or do you listen and take a break before you’re forced?

26 responses to “Catch up

  1. Smart girl! I usually stave it off before it hits, but occasionally “it” gets me. Rest up and you’ll be ready to rock IM!!!

  2. I typically keep going until I’m forced to take a break- which never turns out good, maybe next time I’ll learn my lesson! 🙂

  3. Hope you feel completely better soon! Ahh, I can’t believe ironman is only 2 weeks away. Are you getting butterflies yet??

  4. Glad you were able to use the weekend to rest up and recuperate! I can only imagine how tough IM training is on your body. I’ve definitely felt this way during long marathon training weeks. As I get older, I’m getting better about listening to my body’s cues and taking rest days. With two little girls, I need them more than ever!

  5. Yes feel better! I want you 100% out there beating all these boys!

  6. Yep! and I totally listen when it tells me to cool it. Thats great you’re resting, you’re probably doing yourself way more of a favor than trying to push through. I hope you feel better soon!

  7. I hope you feel better soon!

  8. Sounds like your body was definitely crying for a bit of rest! Time wise, this is a good time to get sick, right? I’m sure you’ll be back to 100% well before race day!

  9. I love that pinterest photo. I totally listen to my body when I feel I’ve been doing too much. Although recently, I haven’t been as consistent with exercise and I listen to the hunger pangs more. Grrr. I plan on doing an hour bike ride tonight to shake things up again!

  10. Glad you took that break, sounds like the right idea. Feel better!!

  11. Sometimes even when I feel tired I will keep going until I REALLY feel like I need it. Last year I was working at 4am everyday, and then would come home and go for a long run and be in bed around 9pm. I was always exhausted, but it was a blast!

  12. Luckily this happened now, and not in 10 days time! I hope you recover quickly, and your body super-compensates to make you even stronger!

  13. Sorry you weren’t feeling well. I hope your body got the rest it needed and your are back at it this week. At least it is taper time and you should be ready to go by next weekend!

  14. I will definitely still run with a cold but when I feel it all over, I rest up and drink lots of fluids! I’m sorry that you aren’t feeling well and hope that you are 100% soon.

  15. I hope you feel better. I take a break when I’m forced to get some much needed rest and recovery. I rarely get sick, but when I do I’m a total baby 🙂

  16. I think forcing yourself to take a break is sooo key! Smoothies and pjs on the couch sound pretty fantastic!

  17. Rest!! Feel better!! The work is done you just have to wait!! 🙂
    It definitely happens because your body is under so much stress for so long…your immune system decides to take a break! I was under the weather 2 weeks out from IMAZ last year and rested. I rocked the race and I know you will too!!

  18. Wow, IronMan! The best of luck to you, I’m so excited to read your recap. It’s amazing what the human body can accomplish.

  19. Stephanie@nowiun.com

    I really hope you got the rest you needed. I think my mind forces breaks before my body does.

  20. those early mornings and go go go catch up to us, oh man, do i know! did you get some rest this weekend? Hope so!

  21. Well we didn’t get to meet but I’m pretty sure you and your hubby were on the video crossing the finish line together? Am I right? I’ve only seen y’all in photos but it looked like you. Can’t wait to eat about it!
    Emma @ a mom runs this town

Leave some love

