Ironman Canada previews

With less than three weeks to go until Ironman Canada, I’m getting excited and nervous!

I checked out the Ironman Canada website this weekend and came across a few goodies.

Numbers have been posted. I’m #365!

IMCANumber

The best nuggets I cam across are course preview videos. They have them for the swim, bike, and run!

The swim is a two-loop, 2.4-mile mass start in Alta Lake, surrounded by white-capped mountains.

IMCASwimPreview

The bike is a one loop, 112-mile course comparable to the old Ironman Canada bike.

IMCABikePreview

The two loop, 26.2 mile run takes you through some asphalt trails and finishes in Whistler Olympic Plaza.

IMCARunPreview

It sure is nice to actually be able to see parts of the course and hear about some of the bike difficulties. I have no doubt I’ll love the scenery and curse the hills!

We’re heading to Jasper this weekend for a long overdue camping trip. I can’t wait to breathe the mountain air and ride some hills!

What is your favourite mountain town?

46 responses to “Ironman Canada previews

  1. wow that route looks gorgeous, especially that lake!! most mountain towns I know are in upstate new york or vermont which really dont compare to the beauty of Canada. as for out west, vail is pretty fantastic, but it doesnt have a lake like that!

  2. Your Ironman posts are beginning to inspire me… I’m sure it’s the challenge of a lifetime but so rewarding!

  3. Wow, three weeks–its going to come so quickly! I love when they have videos of the courses. I also love that you use the word “nugget” just as I would use it 😉

  4. Looks challenging but so beautiful, hope I can get in for 2014!!

  5. Wow – it looks like it is going to be gorgeous!! I like your # – since it has another way to remember it!!!
    I hope your taper is going well!

  6. So jealous of your camping trip! Have a great time and breathe in that mountain air for me! The IM course looks beautiful. You’ll have some amazing scenery to enjoy while you’re kicking butt out there!

  7. That is a gorgeous IronMan course! Thanks for sharing the videos. 365 sounds like a lucky number to me! 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend camping in your favorite place!

  8. This looks incredible — how neat to end at the Olympic Plaza.

  9. Can’t believe this is coming up so soon again! You’re gonna rock it ! We were in New Hampshire and Vermont with the white and green mountains last week—so pretty but super tough training!

  10. Have a great race – hopefully we can find a way to say hello to each other that weekend. Are you familiar with Whistler at all? I think the course will be a bit harder than it looks on paper – if you want some of the inside scoops, email me (keple.alison (at) gmail.com).

    • Yes- I would love to meet you! I’ve never actually been to Whistler so don’t know it at all.
      I think the bike will be killer. And the run shows more elevation than hilly Coeur d’Alene!
      I’ll definitely email you next week- thank you!

  11. runnerbydefault

    That course looks amazing! What is the temperature of the water? It looks chilly with all the mountains around it! Have a great weekend camping. Sounds like fun!

  12. The course looks absolutely beautiful. How will the weather be for the different legs of the race?
    I live in a mountain town and I love it here. Today I got to hike up to the top of a mountain and it was really close by 🙂

  13. Wow, I can’t believe it’s so close already. That went fast! The course looks stunning!

  14. Three weeks?! Wahey… It’s nice they release actual video footage of the course, it must help put your mind at ease.
    I think I will always love Alpe d’Huez the most (it’s where the horrendous mountain stage of the tour de France goes through). That’s where G and I met, where I spend a ton of time and where we go back to year after year. It just has something about it. You two will have to come and stay with us one day!!! Although I’m not sure how good the French are about vegan food?! 😉

    • That’s so special you met there and can go back together often.
      That stage of the Tour is hard looking! We just might take you up on that offer to come visit one day, regardless of vegan food!

  15. You’re going to have a blast! I mean, it’ll be crazy hard, but you’ll still have a blast!!!

  16. Can’t wait to hear about your race! So nice to be able to preview the course so much from home!

  17. I would LOVE to get away in the mountains this weekend..I NEED IT!

  18. I still can’t believe you’re doing 2 so close together! Are you excited for the 2nd one? Tired? Looking forward to taking a break after? Or just loving it all!?

    Enjoy the weekend away!

    • You’ve hit the nail on the head!
      I’m excited, exhausted, and very much looking forward to the break! But, I am still really enjoying training even though I feel like I lumber most days!

  19. Have fun training/camping this weekend!! I am glad you are getting back to Jasper cause I know its your favorite!! I can’t believe you are 2 week out!! Didn’t you just do an IM??!! Ha!! This bike course is going to be tough! I can’t wait to see what you can do!
    My favorite mountain town is Flagstaff!!

  20. I have to say…. it looks like a fantastic place to race! I just signed up for my first 1/2 IRONMAN ( it isn’t until 2014) and I’m already nervous…. but a full isn’t too far in the back of my head 🙂

  21. I wish we could come watch you! We have a few athletes racing and my father in law has done that course 2x. It’s amazing! I am sure youll do great!

  22. Are you human? I am seriously thinking you have an insane super power.

    Stay healthy, train smart! You GOT this!!

Leave some love

