New Orleans, Jasper and a big birthday

I was in New Orleans for a few days last week. I loved the culture, vibrancy, and history of the city!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I walked endless miles through the French Quarter and Garden District, went on a ghost tour, drank a couple Hurricanes on Bourbon Street, and had my tarot cards read.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I think I ate my weight in baked goods. It’s a good thing I returned to running there!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m definitely making Kelly come back with me one day. That southern city charmed me!

Jasper and Kelly’s 30!

I got home from NO on Thursday and within an hour of getting home we were out the door to Jasper for a long weekend. It was Kelly’s 30th birthday and he wanted to celebrate with a quiet weekend in Jasper with Harold and me.

3-0

We hiked 17km (over 10 miles) and climbed 1,200m (almost 4,000 ft). My glutes and calves paid for it!

The views from the top were amazing, and it looked even nicer since we worked hard to see it!

30b

30e

The next day we went on a trail run/walk depending on what Harry could manage. Sometimes that was sprinting and other times it was plodding!

30c

30d

It was so hot they actually reached record temperatures on Friday.

After 20+ miles of walking, running, and climbing in heat for two days Harold was done for. Inevitably he needed to be carried and totally passed out! People in town thought he was pretty cute.

30f

I loved celebrating Kelly’s 30th outside, in Jasper, doing what we love!

Jasper30Family

IMG_6365

How do you celebrate birthdays: big parties or something smaller? 

Ever been to New Orleans? What’s your favourite thing about the city?

34 responses to “New Orleans, Jasper and a big birthday

  1. Happy Birthday to Kelly!! Looks like a great way to spend one’s 30th! i typically do small parties- dinner/ drinks, that sort of thing. and harold is SO freaking CUTE in that photo!! lol. ive been to new orleans once (before katrina)- really fun city! i love the not-haunted sign 🙂

  2. Happy birthday (a little late) to Kelly!!! Sounds like y’all had a fun time celebrating!
    I love New Orleans – my first memories of visiting are from grad school – we went for Mardi Gras – crazy times!!!

  3. ahh, I love all the New Orleans pictures! It’s definitely a place I want to visit for sure, ugh, and even just looking at beignets makes my mouth water. Glad you had a great time celebrating Kelly’s 30th! I couldn’t picture you guys celebrating it any other way than being outside 🙂 I am definitely a small party birthday person – usually with a few close friends and the family (we usually go skiing because my bday is a day after christmas!).

  4. Glad you enjoyed your time in New Orleans. Aren’t those beignets amazing (and addictive!!)? Happy Birthday to Kelly! Looks like you had a fabulous time celebrating. LOVE all of your Jasper pics. Once again, need to talk to the hubby about planning a trip. Your jump shot is awesome, especially with your shadow on the water. You need to blow that up to poster size. Jasper’s next ad campaign, perhaps?!

  5. Happy birthday to Kelly! Harold is just too cute! It looks like your Ironman recovery is going splendid.

  6. What a really cool way to mark a big birthday! So beautiful there. I love N.O., too. It is an awesome city and it’s so good to see that it is getting back on its feet. Glad you got to check it out!

  7. Happy birthday Kelly! Poor Harold! I’ve never been to NO but I need to make that a vacation spot!

  8. Happy birthday to your hubby! Those are gorgeous pictures and I especially love the one of you jumping and of Harold passed out. 🙂

    I’ve never been to New Orleans. It sounds like a great place to visit!

  9. I’ve never been to New Orleans but would love to go. But right now I think Jasper is top of my list! Your pictures are beautiful, and it looks like the perfect way to spend a birthday. Happy Birthday Kelly!

  10. Jasper is stunning! Adding to my must-visit list. I wish places like that were within a day or two drive from Minneapolis 🙂 Happy birthday to Kelly! What a great way to celebrate 30!

  11. Happy Bday!
    That picture of you carrying Harold is adorable! Looks like an amazing weekend.

  12. This sounds like the PERFECT birthday celebration!! Happy Belated to Kelly! Also, I am dying to visit NO!! Such a cultured city!

  13. Happy birthday to Kelly! Looks like you all had a blast on your hike. Gorgeous views! You wore that little dog out! He is so cute.

  14. I’m dying at that picture of Harold asleep in your arms! I’ve never seen a dog do that before. SO FUNNY!!! Glad you had a great time in NOLA and also a fun time celebrating w/ Kelly!

  15. Pingback: Catching up and settling in | Change of Pace

  16. A little late, but happy birthday to Kelly and it looks like you had an AMAZING time (and I love your “Let’s get lost” shirt).

  17. Pingback: Long weekend & more mountain biking | Change of Pace

  18. Pingback: Weekend camping in Radium | Change of Pace

Leave some love

