Catching up and settling in

Whew- it feels like I’ve been a {wo}man on a mission for the last few months from training for and finishing Ironman Coeur d’Alene and Canada to a week in BC to a few days in New Orleans and then Jasper for Kelly’s big 3-0. Oh, and trying to balance full-time work amongst all that.

As much as I love being busy, training for a specific goal and travelling, I love not having any plans right now.

I’m excited to settle in and catch up on, well, life.

I’m looking forward to catching up with friends and family I haven’t seen much of over the last six months.

I can’t wait to hang out with my niece more. She’s already three and a half and isn’t a baby anymore. I hung out with her twice this weekend and was lucky enough to take her and play at her little buddy’s birthday party!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have loved not working out to a schedule or being disappointed if a workout doesn’t happen. It was great to trail run in Jasper, walk if Harold needed the break and not stress that I wasn’t hitting a certain distance.

I’ve enjoyed feeling the burn during different types of workouts. And it’s been awesome to breath heavy after three weeks of low-key activity.

I’m even looking forward to work, taking on new projects and feeling engaged instead of sluggish and tired!

I hope to catch up on all the sleep I’ve missed this summer. I feel like I’ve been fighting a cold for months and battled two during peak training.

Lastly, I am excited to get back in the kitchen and start baking again. I’ve seen a lot of delicious vegan recipes just waiting to be tested.

I started with the baking goal this weekend and managed to bake three vegan fall snacks/desserts: our all-time favourite Pumpkin Gingerbread with Spiced Buttercream from Oh She Glows, Homemade Apple Bread from Lifting Revolution (I used pears instead of apples), and Pumpkin Banana Chocolate Chip muffins from Healthy Girl’s Kitchen.

LoavesPearPumpkin

I think I’ll have to bump up the working out with all this baking in the house!

What are you looking forward to this fall? 

36 responses to “Catching up and settling in

  1. I’m glad that you are going to take some time to catch up now that you aren’t in full training mode!!
    Your niece is super cute!!

  2. I”m with you! I can’t wait for marathon training to be done…though mostly because after it’s done, I’m going to learn how to like running again. I can’t even imagine what IM training would be like!!!

  3. Yum that pumpkin gingerbread looks so delicious! I am most excited for all of the weddings we get to attend this Fall!

  4. When I read your New Orleans post, I was thinking that you were always on the go! But you definitely deserve a much needed break from training, travelling, and whatever else! It’s so nice to just relax and not have to do much of anything. I hear you on doing some baking. I haven’t in ages, but considering it’s pretty much fall – its time for some yummy eats. 🙂 And naturally, I am swooning about that Pumpkin Gingerbread Loaf – PERFECTION if you ask me.

  5. Enjoy the down time and catching up after such an intense summer! Fall is the perfect time for baking, trail running, reading, and just relaxing. Although I’m sure you’ll still find plenty of adventures even if you’re not training hard core! Your niece is so cute!!

  6. Those breads sound really great right now! I envy your lack of training schedule right now. I am kind of craving that myself, I’ll admit. Fall is the perfect time to kick back and spend more time with family and friends (and your niece is so cute!)

  7. Sounds like you are having a great relaxing end of summer beginning of fall!! That pumpkin bread looks amazing!!
    I am looking forward to baking with pumpkin and the Chicago Marathon!! 🙂

  8. Enjoy the relaxation – you earned it!

    Those pumpkin muffins sound amazing!

  9. Enjoy your down time. If anyone deserves it, you do! Baking is one of my favorite things to do when I have spare time. Your loaves of bread look and sound delicious!

  10. Your niece is so cute! What gorgeous hair! I’m glad you’re taking some time to rest and catch up. The pumpkin bread looks soooooo yummy.

  11. oh of all people you DEFINITELY deserve a break!! 🙂 its awesome your taking a little time out. and how fun to throw yourself into baking last weekend! i want to do that:) and omg your niece looks so much like you!! that is such a cute photo!!

  12. You definitely deserve some time to focus on yourself and relax a little bit! Enjoy it 🙂

    Those Pumpkin banana chip muffins sound delicious!

  13. I’m stoked for my half marathon next month, but will be ready for a more relaxed workout schedule. I’m excited for fall foods, and fall weather!! Crunchy leaves and sunny crisp mornings are my favorite!

  14. I’m going to have to adapt some of these recipes to make them GF too! I make my vegan banana chip muffins so often pumpkin would be a nice change! 🙂

  15. Gosh – isn’t it great not having a plan?? I find that I love making a schedule and hitting my goals, but seriously the break of having nothing is just divine. So glad you’re enjoying that time off 🙂 And impressed with your success on your baking goals!

  16. Baking for sure!
    And cool weathered runs and bike rides, plus plenty of hot apple cider!

  17. It is definitely nice to be home for a change with no plans. Enjoy while you can! That bread looks amazing! I wish I had a baker’s bone in my body but I just don’t. Good thing they sell that stuff in grocery stores!! 🙂

  18. This sounds exactly like what I am enjoying about my off season I am calling it “fun-tober” 🙂

  19. Doesn’t it feel good to catch up on life after so much training?! I miss the IM structure and can’t wait to start again, but wow, it’s been nice to live life and enjoy all the things that got pushed to the wayside during training! Your niece is adorable! I’ve been spending lots of time with mine, too 🙂

Leave some love

