Wet, wonderful weekend in Vancouver

We spent a long weekend in Vancouver to visit Kelly’s sister and brother-in-law and to celebrate our five year anniversary! (Thank you for all your kind wishes!)

We had a blast with Alicia and Jeff. Despite the rain (thank goodness for Gore-tex!) we spent the majority of our time walking outside.

Van

Here are some highlights:

The seawall

Kelly and I ran the seawall around Stanley Park both Friday and Saturday mornings. Running in the rain is one of my favourite things to do and I love the ocean, so both runs were magical!

KellyRunStanley

Food

We ate…and ate and ate! Alicia and Jeff took us to fantastic restaurants all three days but The Eatery sushi restaurant topped my list. Not only did they have an enormous menu including an entire page of vegetarian sushi options but the restaurant was also really funky with paper mache figures hanging from the ceiling.

Aquarium

We visited the Vancouver Aquarium on Saturday. I turn into a little kid at aquariums, zoos, etc., and this trip was no different. I loved watching the belugas and sea otters play.

Even though it was really raining on Saturday and some exhibits are outside, there were still many families there. I love seeing that since the Aquarium is non-profit and dedicated to the conservation of aquatic life with a large focus on marine mammal rescue.

Walk, walk, walk

Downtown is very walkable. We visited all the main areas including Robson Street, Yaletown, Gastown, Granville Island, and Stanley Park.

Gastown

I think Granville Island and their awesome market is my favourite neighbourhood.

It was so fabulous to go on a quick weekend getaway and spend lots of time with Alicia and Jeff. Hopefully we’ll make it out there more often!

What did you do this weekend?

Are you a fair weather traveller or do you explore regardless?

29 responses to “Wet, wonderful weekend in Vancouver

  1. Ohh looks like such a fun trip!! and happy anniversary!! (aw man i’m absent from the blog world for 1 week and i miss so much!) i love walkable downtowns. i may not run, but i walk everywhere. and yup- im out there rain or shine too! congrats again on 5 years!

  2. Sounds like an incredible weekend – glad you had a great getaway for your anniversary!!
    I love aquariums, too – I think they are fascinating!!

  3. Happy anniversary! What a great way to spend it. I have a friend who loves that run along the sea wall you mentioned. I need to venture up there one of these days!

  4. Glad you were able to enjoy the sights, despite the not-so-ideal weather! Unelss it’s pouring buckets, I still like to get out and explore.

  5. There’s a cool bar there called Cambie. It also doubles as a hostel – kind of a wild joint when I visited there.

  6. You two are seriously the cutest outdoorsy couple and I just love it!! What a fun weekend getaway! As you know, I too LOVE running in the rain!

  7. I have been craving sushi for weeks! Sounds like a fun weekend!

  8. You guys are just so cute!! One of these days I’m going to make it to Canada because your pictures are constantly killing me! Beautiful! Congrats on 5 blissful years!!

  9. Awesome Trip!!! I love vegetarian sushi! Everyone always says to me: You like sushi but you are a vegetarian?! 🙂
    Good weekend: 16 miler in the rain, lots of football, went to a show on Friday night!
    I can travel and explore in any weather!! That just makes it a little more interesting!! 🙂

  10. My parents are flying up to Montreal as I type this for a trip. Can’t wait to see their pictures. Pre baby we would go out in anything… with baby we tend to be fair weather explorers!

  11. Sounds like you guys had a great weekend!! Definitely hit all the good stops and I will have to check out the sushi place, never even heard of it! 🙂 I absolutely love that you guys stay active even while visiting other places. I tell myself I will go for a run while on vacation/away from home…but that has yet to happen!

  12. runnerbydefault

    Sounds like a great weekend despite the rain. One of my most fun times in Key West was getting caught in a downpour with my husband and running back to hotel in it. It was so fun!! It definitely helped that it was a WARM rain! 🙂

  13. Aww, that sounds like so much fun! I love aquariums, too. I’m glad you were able to get out!

  14. I want to go back to Vancouver right now! My favorite city! It rained the entire time we were there in August, but we still rented bikes and explored the city 🙂

    Happy anniversary!

  15. Sounds wonderful, and like you made the most of it… rain or shine!

Leave some love

