Winter weekend in Jasper

Kelly and I had last weekend’s getaway on our calendars for quite a while, and it did not disappoint.

Although Jasper is lacking snow, the beauty of the town made up for it! I can’t decide if my favourite part of the weekend was the peaceful cross-country ski, winter hike, day of downhill skiing, Moonlight Madness shopping, or delicious food and après ski drinks and laughs.

I’ll let the pictures do the talking…

XCAbbyNov13

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our XC ski on the Jacques Lake Trail was indescribable: no tracks, not a soul around, surrounded by giants (both trees and mountains). The silence was almost deafening.

WinterHikeKNov13

WinterHikeNov13

Our hike felt more like spring with the rushing river!

MarmotAbbyNov13

MarmotAKNov13

Marmot Basin ski resort is celebrating its 50th season. I didn’t get out downhill skiing last year, and I forgot how much I love it.

Do you ski? What’s your favourite mountain to ski?

A happy Thanksgiving (tomorrow) to all my American friends and readers! I hope you spend time with family or good friends and eat a lot of tasty food!

What are you thankful for?

57 responses to “Winter weekend in Jasper

  1. I love downhill skiing, but out in Ontario we have nothing like you Westerners do! I xc skied once, and was terrible at it. Is it difficult to really learn? I would also like to try snowboarding!

    • I learned to xc ski in junior high and was brutal at it. When we bought them a few years ago, I could miraculously do it! You should give it another try when you’re back on a winter continent 🙂

  2. It looks so beautiful in Jasper! What a fun early winter getaway. I do XC ski and snow shoe a bit in the Rocky Mountains (they all blend together so I don’t have a favorite). Never downhill, I am not coordinated enough and spend too much money on triathlon.

  3. Wow, those are gorgeous pics! There’s nothing like a blanket of snow to cover everything in mystery and a peaceful silence. It’s actually snowing here today, and my 4 y/o is going NUTS! She wants to make snowballs, snowmen, and snow angels. I hope there’s enough! I’m so thankful for my two little girls, hubby, family, friends, blogging buddies, and so much more! Life is good!

  4. Yay! We are totally skiing sometime this long weekend. I wasn’t out at all last year either so it will be fun! We have a pass to winter park and copper mountain this year and the snow is looking good!

  5. Your trip photos almost make winter look like fun!
    I used to love to cross-country ski. Sold my skis when we moved to Texas two years ago – not really much use for them down here!

  6. We love downhill skiing, our favorite is Revelstoke. If you ever get the chance to take a trip there I’d recommend it. We loved it so much we moved there for a year to ski, before heading back to the city and reality!

    • I’ve heard such great things about Revelstoke! That’s awesome you lived there for a year to ski! I bet it was incredible.
      We usually go to Silverstar in Vernon when we’re over there, but we really should check out Revelstoke sometime.

  7. Your pictures are gorgeous and make me miss cross country skiing! I haven’t been in over 15 years! The best mountains (and canyons) I’ve skied on (and in) were in Utah when we lived out there. So glad you and Kelly had a great time on your trip!

    • I suppose when you have a beach to escape to, the mountains don’t call as much!
      Kelly and I have talked about a ski trip to Utah; it looks like there are so many great mountains/resorts out there. Maybe one day!

  8. That looks beautiful! You’re lucky to have access to that. I’ve only skied 3 times – once at Park City, Utah, once at Winter Park, Colorado, and once at Crystal Mountain just south of Seattle.
    Happy American Thanksgiving to you too!

  9. Oh my goodness, that looks gorgeous. I’ve never been cross country skiing, but I’d really love to try it! Apres ski drinks sounds so incredibly chic…

  10. Being a complete novice to skiing.. I think I’ll stick to the flat rollers of Iowa for a while longer. You definitely win as far as scenery goes though!

  11. What an awesome weekend! One day in my life I will make it to Jasper.
    I can downhill ski, but haven’t been for a long time. Maybe next year!
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

  12. Abby, those pictures are beyond gorgeous. What a beautiful area. I haven’t cross country skied in years, but now I want to! So much to be thankful for, but the top few would be God, family, health, friends, a good job.

  13. That scenery is ahhhmazing!!! sounds like you guys had a wonderful weekend. I love all of your adventures!! I need to go to Jasper again soon, havent been in over a year now. Gorgeous!

  14. Wow those are some outstanding views! What a gorgeous place! It sounds like a wonderful weekend.

    I used to ski, but haven’t been since like 2007 when I busted up my knee in Mammoth, CA. Now I’m a little afraid of it. I really should get back out there eventually. East coast mountains aren’t as intimidating!

    I hope you have a wonderful holiday!

  15. Runner Girl Eats

    These pics are gorgeous!! I love to ski (never been xc skiing though). I’m a fan of anywhere in the Rockies really but Whistler may be my favorite spot. Now I really want to find some snow!!

    • We should really get to Whistler to ski one day. I love the big resorts with everything you need right there!
      I often laugh when I hear people in warm climates say they want some snow!

  16. That looks absolutely beautiful. I cross country ski, we have gotten several inches of snow in the last week or so and I can’t wait til there’s enough on the nearby trails to go skiing. I have never been downhill skiing…it terrifies me! I miss those big trees on the west coast…and the mountains! You and Kelly look like you’re having a great time 🙂

  17. Absolutely breathtaking! Nick and I need to take a trip to Jasper for some XC an downhill! No snow here (yet), but seeing your pics makes me wish it would fall (I can’t believe I just typed that, given how much I miss summer + temps in the 80s!). Glad you had a wonderful weekend away 🙂

    • Yes- I think you guys should definitely take a trip to Jasper. We can meet you and then take you to Banff, too!
      When do you usually get snow? Ha- I miss summer and warm temps, too, but winter activities can be so fun!

  18. What gorgeous pictures, Abby! Wow. I love the idea of being all bundled up on a hike listening to the water rushing by and seeing the beautiful snow.
    Thank you for the Thanksgiving wishes. We’re eating in less than an hour and my mother-in-law is an amazing cook 🙂
    I don’t ski… I’m thinking about having a friend of mine try to teach me again.

  19. Stunning! You are so blessed to be able to getaway to such a scenic area. Enjoy!

  20. Looks like fun! We went on a family vacation in Breckenridge a few years ago and I would love to do that again!

  21. Looks awesome! Jasper seems to be great ANY time of the year!! Glad you guys had fun!!!
    I am very thankful for my family, friends, and my health!! 🙂

  22. My goodness these photos are gorgeous!! What a getaway!! Views like this feel so romantic!

  23. As a non-snow lover, I have to admit that those pics do look pretty enticing!! I am thankful for my family, friends, good health, friendship of animals, beer, heat in the winter……Just to name a few!! 😉

  24. Beautiful pictures! I grew up skiing, which eventually lead to snowboarding but I haven’t done either in such a long time 😦

  25. That place looks amazing – it’s almost like y’all are out there by yourself!

  26. Beautiful!!! You are jealous of our beach/ocean and I’m jealous of your gorgeous forests and snow!

  27. Beautiful!!! Looks like an amazing vacay and I can’t believe you have so much snow! I’ve only skiied in the midwest (ie Wisconsin) which according to most, really isn’t even skiing : )

Leave some love

