2013 – year of running

I love year in review articles, blogs and photos. There’s something about compacting a year into a simple snapshot of highlights that I find intriguing.

I’m linking up with Miss Zippy’s #yearofrunning13 again for a review with a triathlon twist. (Check out my review from last year.)

Best race experience?
This is a tough one to answer. I only completed three races, all triathlons, but they all meant a lot. I am going to go with Ironman Coeur d’Alene.

AbbyFInish1CdA

I wasn’t as fit as I should have been going into it but still managed to squeak out a personal best. Plus, Kelly had a huge breakthrough and I love racing with him!

Best run?
Again, a toss up! (Can you tell I’m indecisive?!) I loved our family trail run in Jasper on our first camping weekend of the year. I have been falling for trail running more each year, and watching Harold hit switchbacks is priceless!

ThreeRun

My second best run was one steamy morning on Ko Samui with Kelly when we ran long beside coconut groves and the ocean.

Best bike?
Hands down my favourite road bike was when Kelly and I went to Jasper for a day trip and rode on a freshly paved road closed to vehicles! I also saw a bear scuttle up a tree that day!

SAM_0393

Best swim?
I’m not sure if there is ever a best swim for me, but if I have to choose I say Ironman Canada. It was my slowest Ironman swim out of the four I’ve done, but it was surreal with the fog on the lake. I kept popping my head up to look around and take it in!

IMG_1742_0066

Best new piece of gear?
Hmmm…I have to go with something simple for this. I love my SpiBelt! It’s a great way to store my phone, toilet paper, and anything else I need on a run without having to hang on to a ton of things, having them bounce around in a pocket, or leaving them at home.

Best piece of running advice you received?
The quicker you finish, the less it will hurt. My husband gave me these words of wisdom about halfway through the marathon at Ironman Canada when it felt like my ankles were breaking. And he was right! They hurt no matter my pace, so if I ran faster, I’d finish faster!

Most inspirational runner?
Kilian Jornet continues to inspire me, but since he was my most inspirational runner last year I’ll choose a new one!

This time I have two. They’re both Canadian women marathoners. Both broke the 28-year-old marathon record at the Toronto Waterfront Marathon in October.

Lanni Marchant ran a 2:28:00 and Krista DuChene ran a 2:28:32. They also are busy women, with Marchant as a practicing criminal lawyer and DuChene a mother to three kids under eight.  Next time you hear the excuse of someone being too busy to workout, tell them about these world-class marathoners!

If you could sum up your year in a couple of words, what would they be?
Surprising, challenging, fun.

Tell me about your 2013 and then link back to Miss Zippy’s post!

43 responses to “2013 – year of running

  1. That picture of Kelly with the mountains in the background looks like a painting! Western Canada is just SO beautiful!

  2. This was a consistent year of running for me, albeit a bit frustrating. I love family trail runs when camping and I absolutely adore Ko Samui, so I can imagine the difficulty you are having deciding between the two!

  3. People have tried to tell me that the quicker you finish, the less it will hurt. It does not work so well for me, as I find the more I walk, the less it hurts! 🙂

  4. ari @ whatarisaid

    Lol, the quicker you finish the less it’ll hurt is good advice too. I try to remind myself of that when I’m struggling! You had a great year lady!

  5. Love it! You did have an amazing racing year!

  6. I love that advice – I occasionally tell myself something similar.
    You had a great year – can’t wait to see what you have planned for 2014!

  7. So glad you linked up with Miss Zippy and shared your year in review! You are such a rock star, and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for 2014!

  8. Looks like a great year! Still can’t believe you raced two ironmans back to back, that is crazy!

  9. What an awesome year! Is your spibelt water proof?

  10. I love that running advice “The quicker you finish the less it will hurt.” SO TRUE. And such a motivation 🙂

  11. I love your recap. What a great year! Very cool to hear about those amazing women marathoners and you are so right about not using the excuse of being too busy when you hear about women like that! Here’s to a wonderful 2014!

    • I think I appreciate Canadian marathons more sometimes since most of them still have to work since they don’t get anywhere near the same financial support.
      Can’t wait for your exciting 2014!!!

  12. Awesome year in review!! You had some great “bests”!! I am going to have a difficult time doing this for sure! I do love the quicker you finish statement because it is totally true. I am going to make that my mantra for RNRAZ and see what happens!!

  13. Wow–those are some badass ladies there you mentioned! And I am a Killian J. fan, too. You really did well this year and enjoyed the journey, too. Congrats!

    Thanks for linking in.

  14. Thanks for the inspiration Abby!! I am currently typing my post for this topic and giving credit where credit is due…to both you and Miss Zippy. It should be ready to post soon.

  15. Great post! I love that advice from Kelly. I am sure that will stick with me on all of my races from here on out. Hopefully, it will push me to run faster!

  16. You are amazing! And love your 3 word summary of the year too!

  17. Love this! Awesome year, lady! The IM Canada swim was hands-down my favorite, too… I will race there again (perhaps 2015!) 🙂 Currently dreaming of running along coconut groves and the ocean! May have to steal this blog post idea for my own 🙂

  18. Pingback: The Bests of 2013 | PushMyLimits

  19. Pingback: 2013 ~ Year of Running Review | Now I Run

  20. What a fabulous year of biking, running, and swimming you’ve had! Congrats!

  21. Great 2013 recap!!!
    I need to get looking through the past year!

  22. Pingback: How was your year of running? | Change of Pace

Leave some love

