My first personal training conference

I attended my first personal training conference last weekend!

canfitpro hosted the conference, which is the organization I got my certification through.

They hold events in all of Canada’s major cities, with the biggest event in Toronto each summer. Apparently Toronto’s conference is one of the largest in the world for fitness professionals with over 10,000 delegates and 400 sessions with speakers like Jillian Michaels.

I was quite impressed with Edmonton’s and learned so much in one day. I went to four amazing sessions. Despite there being four sessions at each time, I went to the same speaker three times in a row. I wish I could have attended many more sessions!

I wanted to share a bit about each session so put a blurb of what they were about under the title then listed the three top tips or lessons learned. I’ve listed the sessions in the order I attended them.

The gentlemen I listened to are experts in their fields and were big on research and citing other professionals and studies.

Effects of strength training on weight loss. By Alexandre Pare
Proponents of strength training have long claimed it to be a crucial part of weight loss programs. But is that true? This workshop may shock some of your training concepts.

IMG_4221

  • If you gain one pound of muscle mass, you only burn an extra 20 calories per day at rest. (Cardio is a better option for weight loss; however, strength training is important and there are so many health benefits.)
  • Lactate production is crucial to elicit a growth hormone (GH) response, which burns fat. Large, multi-joint exercises produce lactate.
  • GH increases during the night, so adequate rest and sleep are essential.

Women’s symposium. By Scott Josephson
Muscle strength, body composition, metabolism, peri-menopausal challenges and the hormone roller coaster can play an enormous role in cardiovascular and weight training programs. Learn how to create a superb training program for women, and determine the appropriate dietary intake and energy expenditure guidelines.

  • Genetic variations influence energy metabolism. (Studies show that genes explain approximately 50% of weight. Also consider hormones, age, body shape, etc.)
  • Females tend to restrict calories, which contributes to BAD (bone loss, amenorrhea and disordered eating) and a lower metabolic rate.
  • When your hormones lose balance, your body acts in unpredictable ways (increased fat storage, poor thyroid function, cravings, etc.) The body strives for homeostasis.

Eating for energy. Eating for performance. By Scott Josephson
There’s a fundamental difference between regular fitness and athletic intake – training like a pro requires eating like one. We’ll cover several steps for specific nutrient timing, calorie intake and caloric quantities, helping hormones, and the role of phytoestrogens, probiotics, and antioxidants. Sports nutrition is the core component to any program.

Fuel for IM Canada 2013

Fuel for IM Canada 2013

  • Training as an athlete requires eating like one to maximize performance, recovery, and repair. (What you eat and what nutrients your body absorbs today prepares you for tomorrow.)
  • Nutrient timing – 65% of carb intake for the day can fall into a five-hour window around workouts.
  • Eat protein with a high biological value (the quality of a protein- how well a body can use and absorb it). He cited whey proteins or Sunwarrior as a vegan option.

If you don’t already read Cotter Crunch, check out Lindsay’s blog. She’s a Nutrition Manager and Fitness Consultant who keeps her professional triathlete husband well nourished! She often writes about eating for performance.

No bones about it. Osteoporosis programs and prevention. By Scott Josephson
Over 30 million Americans have osteoporosis and 80% of them are women. Learn about practical preventive treatments, functional techniques, bone physiology, risk factors, and dietary and pharmaceutical supplementation.

  • People at high risk for osteoporosis: small or thin-boned Caucasian or Asian women, family history, consistent amenorrhea (loss of period), early menopause, excessive exercise, and eating disorders.
  • Prevention programs: high resistance training focusing on hips, spine, and knees (bone loading), and proper vitamin absorption.
  • If someone has it, maintain their bone density levels with multi-joint movements with a focus on functionality, mobility and balance.

Remember, I’m not a dietitian or expert in this field! This information is for interest. If you want to learn more, here are some resources:

Women have unique needs, especially if they’re active. Find a sports nutritionist or dietitian to help ensure you’re fuelling your body the right way.

Have you seen a nutritionist or dietitian? Do you have any healthy links to share?

24 responses to “My first personal training conference

  1. This is so cool, I love reading posts like this with more science behind the nutrition. It’s exactly what I want to study more of. Thanks for posting, and what a fun conference!

  2. I can attest to the genetic side of the metabolic rate. I was a ridiculously thin kid, while being very sedentary and eating chips, snack cakes, and mountain dew non-stop. I didn’t really believe in calories for a really long time, because I always ate so much more than what any chart said that I should be able to eat without gaining weight. All of my dad’s side of the family is like that! (Unfortunately, when we become adults we gain the ability to gain weight!)

  3. Such great info- thanks for all of the recaps. I would love attending a conference like this just for personal knowledge! One thing I think I need to look into more is fueling during the half ironman…I don’t even know where to start!

  4. So much good info! I love these kinds of posts – it also makes me realize that I know hardly anything about fuelling properly.. thank goodness I have you! This seemed like such a great conference, its neat that they have these all over Canada. Goldfish for fuel is GENIUS!

  5. Sounds like a great conference! I love going to big fitness conferences. There’s always so much good energy all around! And I love that they include early morning runs/walks around the city, huge exercise classes, etc.

  6. Interesting to hear about all the things you learned at the conference. I think I’ve heard similar things about strength training before – so many different schools of thought on it.

  7. I haven’t, but I really should. I would love to attend a conference like this! It sounds like you got so much great/useful information out of it!

  8. Hello! I’ve been reading but not commenting so much, I feel bad. This sounds like an awesome conference. So much interesting stuff, I bet you were soaking it up like a sponge.

  9. Great classes! I bet they were so interesting!! Much better than the dental conference I was at!! 🙂 I have not seen a dietitian. I totally need too. I think that would be super beneficial. I just need to do it!! 🙂

  10. Way to follow your passion! I haven’t visited a dietician, but I’ve gone to plenty of free talks taht they put on. There’s always something new to learn!

  11. I want to go to one of these! I always thought (and pretty sure I’ve read) that resistance training can help fight weight loss rather than cardio, so that is interesting that they are pushing cardio more. Obviously you need cardio, but I think resistance training can bump that weight loss up even more… maybe that’s what they meant?!
    Emma

    • I think they meant for weight loss cardio is the best option. What I heard was strength is good (for weight loss) if you do it heavier, faster-paced, or whole body. But, they reiterated that strength has so many benefits, so don’t not do it!

  12. Great info! Thanks for sharing. I would love to go to something like that and meet so many different fitness-minded people.

  13. Thanks for sharing all of your learnings from the event. Sounds like a great conference!

  14. It looks like you had a great experience at the conference! I didn’t know you were a personal trainer until now, that’s great! I have been considering getting my certification and training on the side. I also REALLY enjoy the sports nutrition component and would have loved the Eating for Performance seminar. I’m seriously obsessed with all of that stuff… jealous of your experience!

    • Yes- the sports nutrition stuff fascinates me, too! I just got my personal training certification in January so was excited a conference opportunity already popped up!
      Congrats on Boston; I can’t wait to read all about it!

  15. I’ve been reading a lot on weight loss in relation to insulin levels, sugar bruning vs. fat burning, hormones, health issues and debunking many of what we’ve believed for a while to be ‘facts’ about healthy eating. I’m actually planning on doing most likely a series of posts as there’s just so much I’ve learned!

    I would recommend Maria Mind Body Health by Maria Emmerich (I’ve got almost all of her books now!), as recommended to me by Lindsay Cotter actually. I would also recommend Authority Nutrition, an evidence-based website all about nutrition and debunking the ‘What is healthy eating?’ myths.

  16. Runner Girl Eats

    Seems like you got some great info! I love learning about how our bodies work and respond to what we put them through. I love Cotter Crunch, too 🙂

  17. runnerbydefault

    Thanks for all the great info. I have never been to a nutritionist before but my husband always talks about going to help get his weight issues under control.

Leave some love

