My favourite running trail – summer 2014

This summer we spent our mountain time in Radium, a small village beside Kootenay National Park in British Columbia about 100km southwest of Banff.

I ran a variety of trails but tended to go back to the same one time and time again.

DSC_3564

I ran it again a couple weekends ago, most likely the last time I’ll run it this year. (I don’t want to run trails once it snows due to the slipping factor!)

on a walk there the next day

on a walk there the next day

It’s my favourite for a few reasons:

  • It’s a huge climb at the beginning, flat at the top, then all downhill at the end! This summer, on average, it took me 15 minutes of climbing to get up there. (The last time I ran the trail it took me 16, but I was convinced it was closer to 25!)IMG_1458
  • Once you’re up on top it’s fairly flat the entire way, which is nice after all that climbing. And although it’s singletrack, the trail is pretty clear of roots and rocks, which was especially important this summer so I wouldn’t fall!
  • A downhill finish always feels good!IMG_1455
  • It feels safe from wild animals that frequent other trails since it’s so open and because of the foliage up there (no berry bushes, etc). However, on the last run Kelly and I came across large bones with blood still on them.
  • You can add on as much distance as you want on a variety of connecting trails. Kelly took me on an extended version the other week, and we ended up in the most peaceful area. There’s actually a little park in the middle of the trail called the Park of Peace!
  • The views are unbelievable. On one side, since you’re right on the edge, you have views of the distant mountains. Look the other way and it’s an enormous meadow with very tall mountains as the backdrop.

DSC_3558

I ran alone 98% of the time this summer and was cautious to do too much or stray too far. Next summer I think I’ll be more adventurous and run more wooded trails with hills throughout.

TrailRunKootenay

Do you prefer a long hill or multiple shorter ones?

14 responses to “My favourite running trail – summer 2014

  1. BEAUTIFUL!! I love both long hills and short ones. They both provide unique challenges that I enjoy 🙂

  2. Gorgeous!! I love BC. What a beautiful trail!

  3. The view from the top is amazing!!!
    I think I might like trails if we had some around here!!!

  4. Beautiful pics! I just did my first trail run a few weekends ago and boy it was tough. Lots of steep hills which I hated. So I guess I like gradual hills?

  5. Wow wow wow! It is absolutely gorgeous there. Trail running is such a different experience from running on the roads and sidewalks. I love when I can venture out and be completely on my own. When it comes to hills, I prefer a steady long uphill so I can get into a groove. The quick steep hills throw off my rhythm. 🙂

  6. Those views are amazing!! Definitely my kind of run…starting with the uphill and ending with the downhill!!! 🙂
    I love that last picture of the trees and the sun coming through! Awesome!
    I like rolling hills! I can get the heart rate up but then recover on the way down!! 🙂

  7. I love trail running! I prefer many shorter hills both for the rest in climbing, but also how they won’t totally shred your quads on the descent.

  8. Sounds like an amazing trail! I definitely prefer rolling hills over one big one but sometimes you can’t beat the feeling of accomplishment you get from scaling a monster of a mountain!

  9. That view, oh my gosh! Amazing. I am so bummed our nearest mountains are about 8 hours away.

  10. What a spectacular place to run! The mountains (and BC) are magical, right?! Everyday Nick and I talk about moving closer to them 🙂

  11. All of your pics are gorgeous! So jealous of your beautiful runs!

  12. This place looks like a DREAM! How beautiful… there are no words. As someone who loves to hike and loves the mountains, visiting here would be a dream come true! One day I hope to get out there and run those trails:) Thanks for sharing with us, you are so lucky to live so close to such a magical place. Oh and smart thinking not to run there in the winter time;)

  13. Gorgeous! I am always so terrified when I am in Nelson to run the trails!! Gah, bears left right and centre. This morning we were having a breakfast and a cougar was in our yard – yikes! I am always so envious of your running routes, they are incredible.

    You know me, I don’t run a lot of trails so I like em all 🙂 XO

  14. Debbie @ Deb Runs

    I think I prefer rolling hills over one long one. I’m envious of the beauty of your trail runs, but don’t think I’d like being on constant lookout for bears and other large animals!

    I love that last picture of the sun shining through the trees. It’s so pretty!

Leave some love

