I mustache you some questions…

I’m a little slow to the game with this…story of my life lately! Thanks to Leslie @ Triathlete Treats and Kristin @ Sweat Courage for tagging me.

mustache

I love reading questionnaires on other blogs, so I thought I’d play along!

Four names other people call me other than my real name.

  1. Abs or Ab – lots of people call me this from friends to coworkers to my niece
  2. Abby – my real name is Abigail, but I think only my Dad calls me that
  3. Flabby Abby – my old track friends
  4. Bertha – oddly it’s Kelly’s pet name for me

Four jobs I’ve had.

  1. Babysitter
  2. Lifeguard/camp counsellor
  3. Lifeguard and swimming instructor
  4. Communications Advisor – my grownup job

Four movies I’ve watched more than once.

  1. Adventures in Babysitting – I think I know every line
  2. Beauty and the Beast
  3. Blood Diamond
  4. Crazy Stupid Love

Four books I recommend.

  1. Summer Sisters by Judy Blume – best beach read
  2. The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein – best book about dogs and friendship
  3. Anatomy for Runners by Jay Dicharry – best book for injury prevention if you’re a runner or athlete
  4. A Trip to Lazibonia – it’s a kids book and my favourite at my Grandma’s house. I couldn’t find it anywhere, so she gave me her copy!

Four places I’ve lived.

This list is super boring, as I’ve only truly lived in one place!

  1. Edmonton, Alberta
  2. Does backpacking Australia for three months count?
  3. I did ‘live’ in Pennsylvania for six weeks one summer while working at a camp
view of downtown Edmonton at sunrise from the trails

view of downtown Edmonton at sunrise from the trails

Four places I’ve been.

  1. Hawaii
  2. Australia
  3. Thailand
  4. New York City
Hawaii

Hawaii

4 Mile Beach, Port Douglas, Australia

4 Mile Beach, Port Douglas, Australia

Ko Phi Phi, Thailand

Ko Phi Phi, Thailand

Rickshaw ride, NYC

Rickshaw ride, NYC

Four places I’d rather be right now.

  1. Hiking in the mountains
  2. Reading under an umbrella on a beach, preferably with a cold drink in hand (I’d take almost any tropical beach) / playing in the ocean
  3. On a run in a new, big city
  4. Exploring Brazil

Four of my favorite foods.

  1. Perogies
  2. Raspberries fresh from the garden
  3. Pizza
  4. Scallops

Four things I don’t eat.

Almost any popular ‘blogger’ food…

  1. Sweet potatoes
  2. Kombucha
  3. Watermelon
  4. Avocado

Four TV shows I watch.

I only watch tv on Netflix, and I’m currently only watching two shows.

  1. Homeland
  2. Lost – 10 years late to the game but just finished season one!

This summer I did watch Nashville (I admittedly became obsessed)  and How I Met Your Mother.

Four things I’m looking forward to this year.

Baby on the brain!

  1. Meeting our baby – due in early March
  2. Seeing Kelly as a Dad
  3. Maternity leave – no work for a year!
  4. Cross-country skiing – new cross-training

XCAbbyNov13

Four things I always say.

  1. I don’t know…what do you think? (I could win as the most indecisive person you’ve ever met.)
  2. Why don’t you decide? (see above)
  3. I wish I were running
  4. You’re a good boy – to Harold

Feel free to play along and answer some in the comments or on your blog!

22 responses to “I mustache you some questions…

  1. Love that you’ve shared with us and can’t wait to live vicariously through you as you embark on your new baby adventure! Just curious…why don’t you like kombucha, sweet potatoes, watermelon or avocados?

  2. I only watch TV on Netflix, too! I’m working through the Gilmore Girls right now. Almost done! And ditto on the popular blogger foods…ew! LOL! How did you EVER get the name “flabby Abby”? LOL! It was fun to read through your list. I’m going to blog this too! 🙂

  3. Always amazed how much you find out about a person with a few random questions!
    I talk to my cat all the time and I’m sure that’s one of my most popular sayings. Along with “mmm, not sure…”, I’m a bit like you on the decision making!

  4. I can’t believe you don’t eat avocado!!! It’s a regular part of my diet and I can’t imagine life without it, haha!

    Love this – I was tagged so I plan to post mine soon!

    I think the fact that you haven’t lived anywhere else is made up for by your travels! And I’m super jealous of the 1 year maternity leave !!!

  5. Very cute Bertha 😉 I’ve never tried Kombucha either.

    I’ve got this post in the works too!

  6. Your comment about the foods bloggers love and rave about makes me laugh. I did gasp a little when you noted Avocado as one of your least favorite foods. HOW!?! I need to watch Homeland – is this on Netflix? We just got sucked into the Blacklist and LOVE it. Do you know yet if you are having a boy or girl?

    • It’s the texture and taste; I even have to poke it out of sushi that has it 🙂
      Season one of Homeland is on Netflix Canada, and I know your Netflix is much better! We just finished season three- so good!

  7. I totally know every line in Adventures in Babysitting too!! Love it!!!!
    I would rather be…back in Costa Rica!! 🙂

  8. Love the Art of Racing in the Rain- I think I could read it over and over again! I loved Homeland too and we just started watching House of Cards on Netflix.

  9. What a super cute picture of y’all – is it recent? Your hair looks shorter.
    I don’t eat a lot of the blogger foods but I love avocado!!!

  10. Hhhmmm I don’t know if I can give you the title of the most indecisive person… or, at least, I’ll be second, then. I am so indecisive… all the time! Bad thing but good to know I am not the only one 😉 We could create a club 🙂
    Also, avocado? Really? I LOVE avocados…

  11. Debbie @ Deb Runs

    So fun! I think your “places you’ve visited” more than makes up for “places you’ve lived.”

    It’s so cool that you’ll be taking a year of maternity leave. I took 13 weeks with my oldest and it was so fun!

  12. Thanks so much for playing along! Loved reading your responses:) your comment about saying ‘good boy’ to Harold, melted my heart… Why didn’t I think to say that as an answer? 😉 I love how you lived in Australia too! I would love to go back there, I still think about it all the time. You have such an exciting year ahead of you!!!!

  13. Oh and I meant to say… 1 year of maternity leave?! I need to move up to Canada when and if we have kids, that’s amazing.

  14. So fun to read this, Abby! What Kristin said… a one-year maternity leave is amazing! Maybe Nick and I should move to Canada when we have kids 🙂 That said, I’m so excited for you guys, and I can’t wait to see all the adventures your family takes! Lifeguarding and communications… worked as both, too, and perogies… a staple food in my family! So GOOD. That Thailand pic… a top destination on my list!

  15. Pingback: How was your year of running? | Change of Pace

Leave some love

