Well hello!

I never intend to fall off the face of the blogging world but it is so easy to just not write and not read other blogs.

When I got pregnant I didn’t want to become the blogger that goes from training and racing and going on fun travels to writing only bump updates. Although if you follow me on Instagram (search thechangeofpace) you’ll see those are basically the only photos I post.

However as I quickly learned, pregnancy takes over your whole life! Not that it’s a bad thing, it’s just not what I intended to write about when I started a blog.

So here I am…

35 weeks pregnant and in the homestretch… six weeks since my last post… with not a lot to write!

I could recap the negatives: how brutal the end of 2014 was with house arrest and zero activity for nine days since I got so sick, or how I have chronic pain in my hips and now back that doesn’t allow for much sleep and has me waddling around in a constant state of agony.

I could talk about how I find pregnancy fascinating as a weekend warrior athlete: the weight gain (I think over 30 pounds so far?), how I miss simple things like being able to roll my IT bands (I’m too unsteady now!), and how despite staying fairly active I breath like an overweight, pack-a-day smoker when I walk upstairs.

Or, I could talk about the positives: how this babe is a mover and shaker with body parts sticking out left right and centre (Kelly thinks the baby is practicing ice and rock climbing), how excited we are to meet the little one, and how loved our baby is by so many…already! This is just scratching the surface of everything good.

Let’s stick with the positives and keep right on sailing into the final month of pregnancy. For now, I’m just grateful to be growing a healthy little being.

grateful

I’m not sure what blogging will look like from now on, but I suppose that’s part of the reason my blog name is Change of Pace. Life changes, and along with it goals, priorities and focus change, too.

What’s new in your world?

21 responses to “Well hello!

  1. Glad to hear from you 🙂 Even if you don’t post often or it’s not the same than before, I’ll be happy to keep reading your posts. I can’t even imagine how things change when you are expecting and even more when the little one is here! So, it’s totally understandable that your focus are and will be on these things. Good luck for this last month!! 🙂

  2. Your pregnancy updates fascinate me, which is saying a lot because to be honest I usually don’t care much for them when others write. Not that I can’t appreciate it, but it doesn’t really pertain to me, but you write about it in a way that is still true to your regular blogging topics. I feel like I’m rambling, but basically what I’m saying is I enjoy your pregnancy updates and I’m glad you post even if it’s sporadic!

  3. I was nervous something happened to you!! Great to hear that things are good and life is good!! I can’t believe you are only 5 weeks away!! It has gone by so fast!!!! Good luck! I should get on IG so I can see some pictures!! 🙂
    Not a whole lot going on with me. Focusing on running right now with an ultra relay coming up fast and then into 70.3 training for Victoria! Excited for a new year and new goals!!!

  4. I can’t believe your little one will be here so soon!! And I’m also amazed that you have kept so active. I hope you feel a little better during the last 4 weeks or so! And its totally okay to write about your pregnancy, that’s your life right now and that’s perfect.

    Not too much new here – except the fact that I haven’t gone for a run in a very long time. I’m not pregnant and I’m pretty sure you’ve been running more than me 🙂

  5. It’s good to hear an update from you. How exciting that you are in the home stretch. Enjoy these last few weeks of pregnancy! Wishing you all the best.

  6. I’m glad you brought us up to speed and I’m glad you have enjoyed your pregnancy (for the most part!). You have such an amazing, incredible journey ahead of you! Looking forward to the announcement!

  7. Wow – so close now!!! So great to hear how you are doing – both the positives and negatives (hopefully not too many more negatives!!!).

  8. Aw… what a fun chapter you’re finishing and what an epic one you’re beginning. We’ll wait to read whenever you’ll write! We are looking forward to meeting the little one, too! 🙂

  9. Enjoy your last few weeks of being kid-free! Go out to dinners, movies, etc. You’ll miss em after the kiddo comes! Ha! Almost there!

  10. Thanks for the update… great to hear from you 🙂 Best wishes with the last bit of your pregnancy! I’m so excited for you!

  11. Debbie @ Deb Runs

    It’s so good to get your update! I hope the rest of your pregnancy goes smoothly, and I can’t wait for the big announcement!

  12. So good to hear from you! I’m sorry you are having so much pain and wish you an easy last few weeks!

  13. Thanks for checking in! I cannot wait to see pics of your baby so you’d best get on and post those ASAP! 🙂

  14. Wow, you are getting so close Abby!!! When is your actual due date? You mentioned not getting much sleep – is it just due to not being able to get comfortable? That’s crazy about the huffing and puffing walking upstairs. It sounds like being pregnant really takes it out of you. Do you take naps?

    I am sure you are ready for baby to get here so you can move on to the next chapter of your life. Do you have any idea of what that will look like? Are you planning on having more?

    • Actual due date is March 6, but I’m hoping a little early 🙂 I’m actually shocked at how out of breath I am! From what I’ve read, your uterus pushes on your diaphragm in the third trimester!
      Hope your training is going awesome! I love all the beautiful photos of it.

  15. Love this post Abby! I agree with you, it’s easy to fall off the blogging waggon and it can be hard to get back on! I can only imagine with being pregnant, this is even harder:) I’m so excited for you!! So soon now:) Sorry to hear you are getting very uncomfortable, and thank you for being honest about it all! I have enjoyed watching your progress on Instagram too, and seeing your cute bump pics!

Leave some love

