Currently

I love Erin’s currently posts so thought I’d try my own edition.

//reading

Ha ha- how my reading habits have changed. I used to read multiple books a month, mostly chick literature and some honest good reads.

The book I currently flip through on a daily basis? Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child by Marc Weissbluth.

And I can’t forget about all the kid books I read to Jasper. My personal favourite? Any from the Walter the Farting Dog series. So funny!

I also do a lot of middle of the night blog reading on my phone when I’m nursing Jasper. I’m generally too tired to comment, but I’m still reading lots!

//feeling

I feel more like myself every day. It feels like the fog is lifting. Jasper’s sleeping better (knock on wood), and I’m getting used to living on less sleep.

I think the longer days and lots of sunshine has something to do with it, too!

//watching

Grey’s Anatomy. I wish I had known how good this show was before! I started watching it on Netflix and am slightly addicted.

//training

I am loving it so much. I also think I feel more like myself since I’ve been working out!

StrollerRun

We got an infant sling for the Chariot, so I took Jasper on our first two runs last week. We didn’t go long, but you couldn’t wipe the smile off my face! I can’t wait to go on countless more runs with him!

//listening

I’ve never listened to podcasts before, but now I listen to one almost every day. Last week I listened to a few from Runner Academy with Matt Johnson. My favourite was RAO69 with Sage Rountree. I have a few of her yoga books and find her to be extremely knowledgeable and inspiring.

Any suggestions for inspiring running/fitness podcasts?

//hoping

I keep saying I want time to slow down. I know Jasper is only two months old, but jeez I know what parents mean when they say time flies.

With that being said, I can’t wait for summer and am hoping for many weekend excursions in the mountains!

What’s your currently?

45 responses to “Currently

  1. I am confident that time just speeds with every year of age! I love podcasts- some of my favorites are Balanced Bites and The Chalene Show!

  2. I love Sage!!! I’ll have to listen to that podcast. I really miss living in Durham and being able to go to her yoga classes in person.

    Glad you are feeling more like yourself!

  3. I love the “currently” idea too. I might try it some time!
    I’ve recently discovered podcasts too. My favourite is Marathon Talk which I listen to during my long runs. I’ll need to check out the Runner Academy ones.

  4. I’m currently *almost* finished with the LOST series. I know I’m quite a few years behind but I’m riveted by the storyline!

    • Lol- I started watching that in the fall but got a bit annoyed partway through. I think I’ll pick it up again and enjoy it if I don’t bingewatch the episodes too close together!

  5. I’m so into podcasts too! They’re stories in your pocket! I don’t listen to any running podcasts though. I like story-telling podcasts – Strangers, Porchlight, Serial (of course), etc.

  6. I have heard great things about podcasts but haven’t listened to any! Glad to hear you are feeling more like yourself again!

  7. I am currently working on decorating my library/home office, and getting my outside spring work done (cleaning up the yard and planting flowers).

  8. I’m with you on wanting time to slow down!!!
    So glad you were able to get out for a couple runs – best feeling after a long time with no running!!!

  9. Love this ! Keep them up!

    I also love Greys. Right now my “me” show (formerly Greys but I’m caught up on Netflix) is Scandal. Highly recommend!

    I just finished reading Wild and it was great! Then I saw the movie and the book was way better .

  10. Sounds like you are doing great!! I am so glad that you are feeling good!!
    Have you listened to Serial? I am not usually into podcasts either but it was really really good! It kept my attention and I wasn’t sure it would!
    I love Grey’s!! I have watched every episode!! I look forward to Thursday nights!!
    I got married Saturday!! It was a big secret! I am so glad that I can tell people now!! 🙂 Just training and working other wise!!

  11. So much fun!! Currently I am plugging away on these last 4.5 weeks of school and counting down the days until summer break. I can’t wait!!

  12. So glad you are getting more sleep! It makes such a difference. On books: I have been writing down all the books I read each year since about 1999. Can you guess which two years have the shortest lists? Babies have a way of doing that! But keep reading to Jasper. I read non-stop to my kids and they are both still huge readers, which is something I love.

    Serial for a podcast! You will end up binge listening it’s so good! Also, Runner’s Connect has a great series.

    • Thanks, Amanda! Six hours straight of sleep last night- it felt fantastic!

      That’s awesome you’ve been writing down all the books you read. I should really start that. And I love that both of your kids are still big readers. I feel like it’s not as common for boys to like reading as they get older. I really hope Jasper loves it!

  13. I would love some book recommendations for the kiddo! I think that instead of cards, I am going to ask people to buy the little guy a book. 🙂 How do you like running with the stroller?

    You look incredibly happy – enjoying life as a new mommy! I love reading this and knowing that the “fog” will lift and things will become more normal once again.

    Currently I am getting ready for a trip to Utah, Mexico, and a big move into our new house. I have a feeling that May is going to pass in the blink of an eye.

    • I love the idea of asking for books instead of cards!
      I would highly recommend that sleep book. I’ve heard it can do wonders for a child’s disposition when you help them find their pattern.
      Ooh- I didn’t know you have a Utah trip planned, too! Exciting!
      Running with a stroller is awesome! I smile basically the entire time 🙂 The only downside is no single track or fun trails!
      Did you get my email about the baby list?

  14. I used to listen to that podcast too! I haven’t ever found a running podcast that I adored. I was thinking I should make my own. LOL None of them are exactly what I am looking for…they are either too chit-chatty or too technical or or dry. I have a lot of non-running ones I love but I think I’ve posted about those before.

    Glad you’re feeling like yourself again! I remember getting a lot of reading done while nursing, and then when I went back to work, while pumping!

    • You should seriously make your own podcast! I’d love to hear about your fitting the time in to exercise when you have kids, incorporating them into it, battles with injury, etc…stuff from a normal person!

  15. Yay, for your first two runs with Jasper. That must have been amazing. And there are many more to come in your future! Currently I’m recovering from Boston and freaking out a little that Ironman Coeur d’Alene is not that far away. Time to get serious about the biking and swimming!

    • Hope your Boston recovery is going well! Crazy how quickly CdA is coming! At least you’re solid on the running! Good luck increasing those bikes; that was always the biggest struggle for me.

  16. I was looking back on my really old blog posts and noticed you congratulating me on my pregnancy (which has now turned into a one year old baby girl…) and now you have an adorable little one too! Ah! Time really does fly!!! I have ran with Bryn since she was a wee one too and we both absolutely love it! (Very belated) congrats to you!!!

  17. I am on a podcasat kick too! Lots of healthy, nutrition, history,and funny stuff! I am currently reading The Boston Girl and hoping to get in some cooking and baking this weekend!

    Have a good weekend!

  18. YEAH for your come back to running and working out. Also, I think I’ll forever be in awe at the runners pushing a stroller. I guess it’s SO hard!! Running, alone, is hard, so with a stroller…

  19. Pushing that stroller on runs is only going to make you stronger!

  20. I’m sure working out makes you feel like yourself again:) so happy to hear this!! That jogging stroller will make for some great training sessions this summer! I watched Grey’s for years, it can be very addicting. Oh and that children’s book looks super cute, I’ll have to make note of this for the future one day!

  21. The warp speed of time freaks me out, too. I wish there was a way to slow it down and hold it tight :-/

    So great to see you back at it and running with Jasper! You’re beaming!

    Have you been watching Grey’s this season?! OMG. SO GOOD (and sad). My podcast recommendations (30 to 60-minute commute so go through a lot): Radiolab (my favorite!); TED Radio Hour; Happier with Gretchen Rubin; Invisibilia; Death, Sex + Money; On Being; This American Life; The School of Greatness; and, the Health Bridge. 🙂

    Thank you for the shout-out, too, friend! xo.

    • Thanks for the great podcast recommendations! I’ve listened to a few of them and they’re awesome!
      I just finished season 5 of Grey’s and it left me in tears (George dies and Izzy has cancer).
      Hope your CdA training is going well! It’s coming close now 🙂

  22. Hey Abby! I just have to tell you, I read back through your second and third trimester blogs, and am having such a similar experience with running! I was really sad but something in my lower belly/groin is just getting too sore and I had to stop at the end of 2nd tri 😦 My bike is finally getting uncomfy too and having to prop up a bit more! It was nice to know others had the same sort of issues. Anyway, it’s so great to see you bouncing back so quickly, you are doing awesome!

    Was the Healthy Sleep Habits Happy Child worth reading? I got it from a friend but haven’t gotten around to reading it yet.

    • I’m sorry you’re dealing with the same soreness! Believe me- you’ll be thankful you stopped running though when you can get back at it relatively pain free. I have to admit sometimes the pain pops up again but it’s very minor and goes away quickly!

      I haven’t read the full book- I flip around to relevant parts for now! But, I do think it’s worth reading! I’d recommend reading the newborn/0-4 months pages/chapters either now or when the babe arrives!
      The one thing he recommends is no more than two hours of wakefulness, and I’ve found that Jasper starts to get overtired if I don’t get him to nap before that starts.

      Lastly, I loved your Sedona pictures! It looked like such a wonderful baby moon!

Leave some love

