Spreading the love: Liebster Award

I love to read other bloggers Q&As to learn more about them and pick up some good tips and quotes!

liebster

Two of my favourite bloggers nominated me for a Liebster Award: Erin at Sweet Sweat Life and Kristin at Sweat Courage. They’re both training for Ironmans this summer. Erin is training for her second at Wisconsin and Kristin her first at Mont Tremblant. Check them out!

I have 14 questions to answer since some of there Qs overlapped.

Without further ado, here we go:

1. What was the inspiration for your blog and its name?
I had been reading healthy living and running blogs for a few years before biting the bullet and starting one on the Runner’s World blogging platform, The Loop. After a while I decided to start a wordpress blog, so Change of Pace was born. It was named after a love of many activities and a change from running focused to triathlon. Now my focus is changing again- simple running, biking for fun, and whatever else comes my way!

I love the writing outlet and have ‘met’ so many great people.

2. What’s your favorite topic to write about?
I love to write about running and triathlon, and travel. You know I love talking about Harold, too!

HaroldOverlander

My favourite posts to read are generally about people’s training!

3. What keeps you motivated?
A lot of things keep me motivated: love of running and activity, a love of eating, and challenging myself, to name a few.

4. If you could have a super power, what would it be?
Travel in the snap of a finger. I could train somewhere tropical in the middle of winter after work and be back the next morning! And the expense of travel would be cut in half.

HK_hike2

Hiking in Hong Kong

5. What’s your biggest fitness goal, or A race, this year?
Well, since I don’t have any races planned I have to say getting a healthy body back. My left side continues to plague me, in particular my hamstring, piriformis, iliac crest, and calf. (Silver lining – for the first time in a couple years I can’t feel my knee at all!)

The only race I actually have marked on my calendar (haven’t signed up yet) is a SUP race!

SUPing in Maui

SUPing in Maui

6. Describe your perfect day.
We would be on a holiday- Jasper or somewhere tropical/beachy. I’d sleep in until about 7 then Kelly, Harold and I would go for a trail run. After that we’d grab something delicious to eat before going on an adventure- a hike, kayak, or somewhere we could sight-see.

IMG_4980

 

We’d finish off the day eating supper outside while watching the sunset. Oh, and it would be hot during the day and warm in the morning and at night! And I’d eat ice cream and a nutella/strawberry/banana crepe at some point during the day!

7. Do you have a mantra, and if so, what is it?
My fitness/race mantra is You got this or Drop the hammer when the going gets tough.

8. What’s your go-to dinner?
Mexican – most likely grilled black bean burritos!

9. If you could give your 16-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?
(Thank you Erin for a couple of these!)
Be brave.
Travel more.
Don’t do things simply because society expects you to do them.

A much younger Kelly & Abby!

A much younger Kelly & Abby!

10. What is something that you love about yourself?
Physically I like my strong legs that have carried me thousands of miles.
Otherwise I like that I’m inquisitive and that people feel comfortable talking to me. (My girlfriends used to call me Barbara after Ms. Walters for my interview skills!)

11. If you could pick your dream career, and money wasn’t an issue, what would you do?
Travel writer!
Cycling/trail running guide in Jasper, Alberta. (Who wouldn’t want to run and ride with me there?!)
I’d also love to run a small personal training business, focused on empowering women to feel good about themselves! 

EndofRoad

12. What are two goals you have for 2014?
Hm- this is a tough one.
Clean our spare room and donate items I haven’t used/worn in over a year.
Figure out if I’m going to use my personal training certification professionally this year or just personally and for family.

13. Where is one place you have never been that you have always wanted to go?
Brazil is on the top of my list, and Nepal is on the top of Kelly’s. I’d be happy with either! 
Lately cycling in Europe has really piqued my interest, too. (This is where my super power would come in handy!)

14. Are you going to pass the torch and nominate 11 other bloggers?
I’ve seen this on quite a few blogs lately. If you’re reading this and want to take part, consider yourself nominated!

Answer one or some of the questions above!

36 responses to “Spreading the love: Liebster Award

  1. I love your dream career I totally agree we should have a bunch of bloggers chip in and make it happen!

  2. Love all of your answers! Travel/adventure writer + gear/apparel reviewer would be my dream job! And your perfect day sounds remarkably similar to mine. My college journalism professor compared me to Katie Couric once. SUP race? Sign me up! And I’d join you for hiking/biking/running any day!

  3. I love it that your perfect day involves sleeping in until 7am!

  4. Travel writer–that WOULD be an awesome career! And I used to write on the Loop, too. I think there are several of us “out here” now who started there. And when you get that super power, please share the secret, ’cause I want it too!

  5. I love getting to know my blogger friends better by reading their answers to the questions posed! Can’t wait to hear about your SUP race!

  6. I think you would be a great travel writer! And your super power would be a good one for sure – I would love that!! Grilled black bean burritos sounds tasty!

  7. A SUP race?! How awesome! And I 100% agree with #4!

  8. Thanks for the shout out:) you are so sweet! I love your responses (of course, since we have lots in common). I had no idea there were SUP race?! that is so awesome! I tried SUP for the first time in February in Florida and quickly fell in love… sadly there is not much of it around where I live. I would also choose Mexican for dinner and I would love to have my own personal training business!

  9. The World Cup is in Brazil in a few weeks if you want to visit then. That’d be a wild scene!

  10. My perfect day would be the same as yours! ending with a bonfire

  11. I love the younger self pics. It’s always fun to look back on where we were when our relationships began : ) Great post!!!

  12. I just wanna hang out with you all day erryday.

  13. Love your attitude for this year! And congrats!
    Emma

  14. A SUP race, so cool! Where? I love my SUP but the cold Scottish waters around us aren’t so conducive to a paddle.

    Two places I’ve wanted to go lately is Sweden and Denmark. We had spoken about Denmark this summer, but we’ll wait. I love the languages and the scenery is supposed to be very much like Canada. I’m told I’d love both.

    I also have been nominated for a Liebster, and will post when I get the chance, whenever that may be!

    • I bet that’s one of the coolest things about living in Europe- you’re close to so many unique countries!
      The SUP race I’m hoping to do is in Canmore in July. Apparently there is also one here on the river! It starts at Laurier and goes to the River Queen. I may do that one, too, if it’s nice out!

  15. I love this! Such great answers and so cool getting to know more about you. (Harold is my hero. hehe!) I think you would be such an amazing travel writer. And an amazing trainer. In my humble opinion, you should definitely use your certification. You’re incredibly inspirational and I think you could help SO many people!

  16. i love your inspiration!! you are one amazing runner and triathlete because of your HEART! ❤

  17. It is so much fun to learn more about my blogger friends 🙂 I love question #13 and am wondering…why Brazil? I’ve never considered traveling there…for me it would be New Zealand or Thailand, but you have me intrigued with Brazil.

    • I would most definitely recommend Thailand 🙂
      I think I want Brazil because it has such diversity- amazing beaches, fun culture, the rainforest and waterfalls, and big city. When we were debating honeymoon locations, I actually had a full three-week itinerary planned for there but we ended up going elsewhere!

  18. Great to learn more about you!! 🙂 I can’t wait to hear more about the SUP race! Very intriguing! A travel writer would be epic!! I would like to have a dessert place. Somewhere you could go get dessert to either eat there or to go. I would love to go to South America. Chile, Machu Picchu , Patagonia, Buenos Aires, Galapagos Islands!!

  19. These were so much fun to read! Sorry you aren’t feeling 100% physically right yet. 😦 Hopefullyl that will something that will be long gone by the end of 2014!

  20. Hopefully you’ll be able to get your healthy self back this year!
    I love having a mantra to keep me focused during challenging runs and workouts too.

  21. Our perfect days are SO similar!! It sounds amazing right down to the crepe and ice-cream!

    Brazil is on my list too! And Nepal….everywhere really. I also like your super power!

  22. runnerbydefault

    I love this!! A SUP race sounds like so much fun. I would love to try SUP!! I just did #14 today. Cleaned out every inch of the house and a friend is having a free yard sale that I am donating everything to. Feels good to get rid of all the junk!

  23. Stephanie@nowiun.com

    My go-to dinner would have to be Mexican, too (though Italian comes in a close second!). I love reading these, too 🙂

  24. Loved all of your answers! We plan to try SUPing for the first time this summer. Can’t wait! When we moved from Iowa to San Diego last year, we scaled down A LOT and it feels good to live with less stuff and clutter. Can’t wait to follow your adventures!

Leave some love

